Theology
- Reference
- Books
- Articles/Databases
- Websites
- Associations & Organizations
- Worship, Liturgy, and Music
- Theology and Ethics
- Church History
- Patristics
- Commentaries
- Bibles and Biblical Languages
- Judaism, Qumran, and Rabbinic Studies
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
A Dictionary of Biblical Allusions in English Literature
MILLS PR 145 .F8
A Dictionary of Biblical Tradition in English Literature
MILLS Ref. (2nd Floor) PR 149 .B5 D53 1992
Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for Students, Scholars, Researchers, Buyers, and Readers
Its principal aim is to help researchers decide how a work will or will not aid research, expand information or stimulate ideas.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBL 48 .J64 1998
Theological and Religious Reference Materials
The three volumes deal with general resources and biblical studies, systematic theology and church history, and practical theology, containing several thousand annotated entries on each topic.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBS 511.2 .G66
Books
|
Some basic subject headings for theology include: Some basic series to get you started on your research are the following:
|
|
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
|
Article Databases / Indexes ATLA Religion Database BHI: British Humanities Index Proquest Digital Dissertations Religious & Theological Abstracts Social Sciences Citation Index ISI Web of Knowledge |
|
Websites
Internet Theology Resources, By School of Theology Major Areas
http://www.users.csbsju.edu/~eknuth/itr/
Theological
http://www.theology.ie/theores.htm
Theology Library
http://web2.shc.edu/theolibrary/
Theology and Science
http://www.asa3.org/
Associations & Organizations
The Association of Practical Theology
http://www.practicaltheology.org/home/index.php?option=com_frontpage&Itemid=1
The British and Irish Association of Practical Theology
http://www.biapt.org.uk/
The Canadian Association for Pastoral Practice and Education
http://www.cappe.org/
Canadian Society of Biblical Studies
htp://www.ccsr.ca/csbs/
Center of Theological Inquiry
http://www.ctinquiry.org/
Christian Theological Research Fellowship
http://www.luthersem.edu/ctrf/
The Evangelical Theological Society
http://www.etsjets.org/
Institute for Biblical Research
http://www.ibr-bbr.org/
Religious Education Association
http://www.religiouseducation.net/index.html
The Society for Pastoral Theology
http://www.geocities.com/societyforpastoraltheology/index.html
The Society of Biblical Literature
http://www.sbl-site.org/
Worship, Liturgy, and Music
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
MILLS Music Ref ML 100 .N48 2001
also available electronically
Theology and Ethics
The Blackwell Companion to Christian Ethics
MILLS BJ 1251 B54 2004
The Blackwell Companion to Modern Theology
MILLS Electronic resource only
The Blackwell Companion to Political Theology
MILLS BR 115 .P7 B634 2004
The Blackwell Companion to Postmodern Theology
MILLS BT 83.597 .B3 2001
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought
Lengthy essays on a variety of subjects within theology.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BR 95 .B58 1993
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Doctrine
MILLS BT 80 .C29 1997
The Cambridge Companion to Christian Ethics
MILLS BJ 1251 .C246 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Feminist Theology
MILLS BT 83.55 .C35 2002
The Cambridge Companion to Jesus (currently on reserve)
MILLS BR 301.2 .C346 2001
The Cambridge Companion to Reformation Theology
MILLS BR 305.3 .C36 2004
The Cambridge Companion to Postmodern Theology
MILLS BT 83.597 .C36 2003
The Christian Tradition: A History (Pelican; 5 vols.)
MILLS BT 21.2 .P42
A Dictionary of Early Christian Beliefs (Bercot)
MILLS BR 66.5 .D53 1998
Dictionary of Third World Theologies
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) BR 95 .D486 2000
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
MILLS Ref. (2 nd floor) BS 440 .D495 2005
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) BR 95 .D5313 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion
16 v. 1986 - 1987.
Based on contemporary archaeological and textual discoveries. Articles cover important ideas, beliefs, rituals, myths, symbols and persons that have played a role in the universal history of religions.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BL 31 .E46 2005
An Introduction to the Theology of Religions: Biblical, Historical…
MILLS BT 83.85 .K37 2003
New Dictionary of Christian Ethics and Pastoral Theology
MILLS Ref BJ 1199 .N495 1995
Trinity and Religious Pluralism: The Doctrine of the Trinity …
MILLS BT 83.85 .K375 2004
Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms
Includes brief descriptions of terms and phrases used in theology. Phrases are in English, Latin and Greek. Origin of the word is included if applicable.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BR 95 .M378 1996
Recent Reference Books in Religion: A Guide for Students, Scholars, Researchers, Buyers, and Readers
Its principal aim is to help researchers decide how a work will or will not aid research, expand information or stimulate ideas.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBL 48 .J64 1998
Theological and Religious Reference Materials
The three volumes deal with general resources and biblical studies, systematic theology and church history, and practical theology, containing several thousand annotated entries on each topic.
MILLS Ref. (2 nd floor) ZBS 511.2 .G66
Church History
Biographical Dictionary of Evangelicals (Larson et al., eds)
MILLS BR 1643 .A1 B56 2003
The Christian Church: An Introduction to the Major Traditions
MILLS BR 145.2 .A85 2002
Church History: An Introduction to Research, Reference Works, and Methods
MILLS BR 138 .B69 1995
A Concise History of the Catholic Church
MILLS BX 945.3 .B66 2004
Encyclopedia of Christianity (Bowden, ed.)
MILLS BR 95 .E47 2005
Encyclopedia of Early Christianity (Ferguson, McHugh, Norris, eds)
MILLS BR 162.2E53 1997 v.1-2
Historical Atlas of Christianity
MILLS Maps G 1046 .E4L5 2001
How to Read Church History (2 vols)
MILLS BR 145.2 .C6513 1985
Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Compact articles on the Western Christian church from its foundation to the present.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BR 95 .O8 2005
The Westminster Dictionary of Church History
MILLS Ref BR 95 .W496
Patristics
Ante-Nicene Fathers: Translations of the Writings of the Fathers Down to A.D. 325 . 10 vols.
MILLS BR 60 .A62 A5 1989
Index alphabeticus omnium doctorum, patrum, scriptorumque ecclesiasticorum quorum opera scriptaque vel minima in Patrologia Latina reperiuntur
MILLS Research Collections (lower level) BR 60 M37 1965
The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church, First Series . 14 vols.
MILLS 281.4 .S464 ser.1
The Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church, Second Series . 14 vols.
MILLS 281.4 .S464 ser.2
Patrologiae cursus completus, seu bibliotheca universalis, integra, uniformis, commoda, oeconomica, omnium SS. Patrum, doctorum scriptorumque ecclesiasticorum ... : Series Graeca ...
MILLS (after the last row of reference – 2 nd floor) BR 60 .M386
Commentaries
Bibles and Biblical Languages
Anchor Bible Dictionary
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BS 440 .A54 1992
A Biblical History of Israel
MILLS BS 1197 .P76 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Saint Paul
MILLS BS 2650.52 .C36 2003
The Cambridge Companion to Biblical Interpretation
MILLS BS 511.2 .C35 1998
The Cambridge Companion to the Bible
MILLS BS 475.2 .C26 1997
Concordance to the Novum Testamentum Graece of Nestle-Aland, 26th edition, and to the Greek New Testament, 3rd edition
MILLS BS 2302 .C65 1987
Concordance to the Septuagint and the Other Greek Versions of the Old Testament (Hatch and Redpath)
MILLS BS 1122 .H36
Cruden's Complete Concordance to the Old and New Testaments
MILLS Bookstacks (6 th floor) BS 425 .C85 1968b
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible
MILLS Ref. (2 nd floor) BS 440 .D495 2005
Dictionary of Biblical Criticism and Interpretation
MILLS BS 440 .D496 2007
Dictionary of Classical Hebrew (Clines; 5 vols.)
MILLS PJ 4833 .D54 1993
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
MILLS BS 2555.2 .D53 1992
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters
MILLS BS 2650.2 .D53 1993
Dictionary of New Testament Background
MILLS Ref BS 2312 .D53 2000
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch
MILLS BS 1225.52 .D53 2003
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpreters
MILLS BS 501 .A1 H57 2007
Exegetical Dictionary of the New Testament (Balz and Schneider; 3 vols.)
MILLS BS 2312 .E913 1990
A Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament and Other Early Christian Literature (Bauer)
MILLS Ref PA 881 .A72 1979
A Greek-English Lexicon (Liddell and Scott)
MILLS PA 445 .E5L 1968
Greek-English Lexicon of the New Testament: Based on Semantic Domains (Louw and Nida; 2 vols)
MILLS PA 881 .G68 1989
A Greek-English Lexicon of the Septuagint (Lust, Eynikel, Hauspie, and Chamberlain; 2 vols.)
MILLS PA 781 .L87 1992
A Hebrew and English Lexicon of the Old Testament (Brown, Driver, Briggs)
MILLS Ref. (2nd Floor) PJ 4833 .B68 1952 (1906 edition in bookstacks)
The Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament (Köhler, Baumgartner, and Stamm; 5 vols.)
MILLS PJ 4833 .K61813 1994
The Hermeneutical Spiral: A Comprehensive Introduction to Biblical Interpretation
MILLS BS 476 .O79 2006
A History of Israel
MILLS DS 121 .B72 1972
International review of Biblical studies = Internationale Zeitschriftenschau fur Biblewissenschoft und Grenzgebiete
1951 - present.
Annual international bibliographical review of scholarship in biblical studies. Includes English works.
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBS 410 .I57
Introduction to Biblical Interpretation
MILLS BS 476 .K545 1993
New Testament Abstracts
1956 - present [PAPER only]
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBS 410 .N4
Old Testament Abstracts
1978 - present [PAPER only]
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) ZBS 410 .O6
Oxford Companion to the Bible
MILLS Ref. (2nd floor) BS 440 .M434 1993
The SBL Handbook of Style
MILLS Ref PN 147 .S26 1999
A Textual Commentary on the Greek New Testament , 2 nd ed. (Metzger)
MILLS BS 2325 .M43 1994
Theological Dictionary of the New Testament (Kittel/Friedrich; 10 vols.)
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) BS 2312 .K62T1E (and in bookstacks)
Theological Dictionary of the Old Testament (Botterweck and Ringgren; 10 vols)
MILLS Ref. (2nd Floor) BS 440 .B5713
Judaism, Qumran, and Rabbinic Studies
The Blackwell Companion to Judaism
MILLS BM 42 .B54 2000
The Cambridge Companion to the Talmud and Rabbinic Literature
MILLS BM 504 .C36 2007
The Dead Sea Scrolls Concordance (Abegg; 2 vols.)
MILLS Ref. (2nd Floor) BM 487 .A72 2003
The Dead Sea Scrolls Reader (Parry and Tov; 6 vols.)
MILLS BM 487 .A3 2004
Encyclopædia Judaica
MILLS DS 102.8 E496 & electronic resource
Encyclopedia of Biblical Personalities: Anthologized from the Talmud, Midrash, and Rabbinic Writings
MILLS BS 570 .C4813 1994
A History and Guide to Judaic Dictionaries and Concordances (Brisman)
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) ZDS 102.5 .B75 v. 3
Introduction to the Talmud and Midrash
MILLS BM 503.5 .S8713 1991
Judaica Reference Sources: a Selective, Annotated Bibliographic Guide
MILLS Ref. (2nd Floor) Z 6366 .C87 2004


Anchor Bible Commentary
MILLS BS 192.2 .A1 1964 .G3
Word Biblical Commentary
MILLS BS 491.2 .W67
Click here to search our cataloue commentaries listed below: