Sociology

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Online

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology (George Ritzer, ed.)
"A vast library giving instant access to the most authoritative and up-to-date scholarship in the field. Students, lecturers, and researchers will find this an invaluable learning, teaching, and research resource."

Dictionary of Sociology (John Scott and Gordon Marshall, eds.)
'There is no better single-volume compilation for an up-to-date, readable and authoritative source of definitions, summaries and references in contemporary sociology’, A. H. Halsey, review of previous edition. Compiled by an expert team of sociologists, this dictionary spans an international range of terms, methods, and concepts. Includes biographies of key figures, and entries on topics, and real-life examples of theories in practice. Rev. ed. of: Concise Oxford dictionary of sociology. 1994.

Encyclopedia of Social Theory (George Ritzer, ed.)
Reference source for anyone interested in the roots of contemporary social theory. The encyclopedia examines the global landscape of all the key theories and the theorists behind them, presenting them in the context needed to understand their strengths and weaknesses.

Encyclopedia of Sociology (Edgar F. Borgatta, ed. in chief ; Rhonda J. V. Montgomery, managing ed.)
Compiled from essays written by subject specialists. Topics were selected by an editorial board. Essays are a few pages in length, and give a broad overview of each topic, complete with references.

Print

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology
Written by one sociologist, this is a dictionary of sociology aimed primarily at students. Bibliographic citations are given within the bodies of major entries.

Cultural Theory Glossary
Contains concepts associated with media, communication, literary studies, the sociology of culture, social geography, Marxism, feminism, psychoanalysis and deconstruction as well as cultural Studies. Includes bibliography.

Encyclopedia of Social Theory  (Austin Harrington, Barbara L. Marshall, Hans-Peter Müller, eds.)

Concise definitions of key terms and short biographies of key theorists; comprehensive surveys of leading concepts, debates, themes and schools. Thorough coverage of the central topics in theoretical sociology as well as terms and concepts in the methodology and philosophy of social science.

Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict (Lester Kurtz, ed.-in-chief; Jennifer Turpin, assoc. ed.)
Addresses a full range of topics in the field of violence, peace, and conflict studies, with coverage of issues as disparate as peace education, trends in warfare, mental illness, and violence towards animals. It also includes many topics of concern to contemporary society, such as ethnic conflict, hate crimes, drug control policies, and child abuse. Includes a glossary, cross-references, bibliography, and index.

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Sociology include:

 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Sociology

 

Newspapers

McMaster owns newspapers from around the world, both in print and online. Search the library calatogue for the name of the newspaper to see our holdings and for more information on how to find newspapers, see "How to Find" on the library main page, then click "Newspapers".

LexisNexis Academic

Inlcudes over 350 major world newspapers. Also includes magazines, law journals and case law, and business information. 

Factiva

Provides access to current and archived news and business information worldwide. The database contains content from more than 25,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages. 

CBCA Reference and Current Events

Provides access to a wide range of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to magazines and newspapers.

 

Data and Statistics

 

Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), SourceOECD, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.

 
Statistics
Data
...facts or figures
...raw material used to calculate statistics
...proves a point using totals, sums or averages
...used with software like SAS or SPSS
 

Statistics

 
CANSIM (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System): provides access to time series statistics on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc. 
 
E-STAT: offering Census profile data for 1986 - 2006 at various levels of geography. Historical Census data is also available for 1665-1871 censuses. CANSIM time series tables are available on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc. 
 
Canadian Census Analyzer: provides access to Census Profile Data for 1981-2006 at Enumeration Area level and Census Tract level; 1991 – 2006 at Provincial and Federal Electoral District level; and the 1971 - 2006 Individual Microdata Files. 
 
Historical Censuses of Canada (1665 – 1871): contains about 350 statistical tables on the social and economic conditions of Canada from 98 Censuses of  the earliest settlements to Confederation in 1867 and on to 1871.
 
Canadian Statistics - Summary Tablesthese summary tables provide an overview of statistical information on Canada's people, economy and governments.
Annual Demographic Statistics: estimated Canadian demographic statistics annually from 1993 to 2005. 
 
Statistics Canada Publications: Full text access to more than 300 Statistics Canada publications listed by subject and Statistics Canada catalogue number. 
 
National Health Expenditure Trends 1975 – :  contains a historical series of macro level health expenditure statistics by province and territory beginning in 1975. 
 
 
US Historical Census Data Browser (1790 – 1960): Access to extensive collections of historical Census numeric and geospatial data files at state and county levels.
 
US Census of Population and Housing: dataranges from most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades.
 
US Census Bureau: provides access to a wide variety of social, demographic, economic and geographic data for US.
 
FedStats: access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies.
 
National Center for Health Statistics: principal health statistics agency of the U.S.
 
SourceOECD: access OECD publications and statistical databases online and build your  own tables in real time. 
 
World Databank (World Development Indicators & Global Development Finance): provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 on.
 

Data:

 
Labour Force Survey (LFS): household survey carried out monthly. Data provide information on major labour market trends such as shifts in employment across industrial sectors, hours worked, labour force participation and unemployment rates. 1976 – 2008.
 
Survey of Household Spending (SHS): detailed information on household expenditures, dwelling characteristics, and ownership of household equipment such as appliances, communications and entertainment equipment, and vehicles. 1997 – 2006.
 
Survey of Labour and Income Dynamics (SLID): household survey to provide national data on the fluctuations in income that a typical family or individual experiences over time. 1996 – 2005.
 
Survey on Ageing and Independence (SAI): national level estimates on seniors concerning their health, social and economic situations. 1991.
 
Survey of Financial Security (SFS): data on income, expenses, assets, debts and wealth from more than 5200 family units residing in private households in Canada. 1999 and 2005.
 
Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS): provides data for health regions across Canada including alcohol consumption, chronic health conditions, fruit and vegetable consumption, general health, use of health services, height and weight, injuries, physical activity, restriction of activities and smoking. 2000 – 2005.
 
General Social Survey (GSS): data on family, social support and retirement for  Canadians aged 45 years and over. 1985 – 2006.
 
National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth (NLSCY): survey follows the development of children in Canada and paints a picture of their lives. It monitors children's development and measures the incidence of various factors that influence their development, both positively and negatively. 1994 – 1999.
 
Canadian Census Microdata Files: Census data and microdata from 1901; 1961; 1961 – 2006 reference years of the Census.
 
National Population Health Survey (NPHS): sample of approximately 20,000 households starting in 1994 and conducted every two years. The survey is designed to collect information on the health of the Canadian population and related socio-demographic information. 1994 – 1998.
 
National Survey of Giving Volunteering and Participating (NSGVP): data on how Canadians support individuals and communities on their own or through their involvement with charitable and nonprofit organizations. 1997 and 2000.
 
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): provides access to a vast archive of social science data on a variety of subject areas such as Education,  Health Care and Facilities, US Censuses, Consumer Spending etc.
 

More Data and Statistics Resources:

Please visit “Odesi”, which houses Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR). 
 
The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be currently registered student, staff and faculty at McMaster University.

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

ERIC/AE Test Locator
http://ericae.net/testcol.htm

Julian Dierkes' Sociology Links at Princeton
http://www.sociolog.com/

Socioweb: your independent guide to sociology resources on the Internet
http://www.socioweb.com/

WWW Virtual Library: Sociology
http://socserv2.mcmaster.ca/w3virtsoclib/

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Canadian Social Trends McMaster Use Only
[electronic resource]

Cities for the 21st Century
MILLS GovPubs ZZ EC - 95 V32

Comparative Study of Housing Allowances
MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) UK1 SS10 - 97 R60

Family Income After Separation
MILLS GovPubs CA1 BS13 - C588 no.5

Multiculturalism: Three Year Strategic Plan, 1994-1997
MILLS GovPubs CA1 AL CU 800 - 94 M77