Social Work

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Dictionaries

Glossary of Terms for Anti-Oppressive Policy & Practice
MILLS Bookstacks HV 12 .L42 2005

The Social Work Dictionary
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HV 12. B37 2003

Directories

Directory of Community Services for the City of Hamilton
MILLS Quick Reference (1st floor) HV 110. H22 D59

Encyclopedias

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) BF 31. B25 1999

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
Online

Encyclopedia of Canadian Social Work
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HV 12 .C36 2005 or Online

Encyclopedia of Disability
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HV 1568. E528 2006

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behaviour
Online

Encyclopedia of Social Work
Online

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
MILLS Bookstacks H 40. A215 or Online

The Social Science Encyclopedia
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) H 41. S63 1996 or Online

Handbooks

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare:  Volume One
Online

Handbook of Domestic Violence Intervention Strategies
Online

Social Worker's Desk Reference
Online

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

 

Social Services Abstracts
Contains current scholarship pertaining to Social Work, human services, community development, social welfare, and social policy.

Sociological Abstracts
Includes abstracts of articles in sociology and related fields.

Social Work Abstracts
produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW).overs social work and human services journals.  Is 

PsycINFO
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in professional and academic journals pertaining to psychology and related disciplines including sociology.

Social Sciences Citation Index

Citations, author abstracts and cited reference searching for over 1,700 scholarly social sciences journals. Allows cited reference searching.

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.
 

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Advocacy (maintained by the McMaster School of Social Work)
http://www.socsci.mcmaster.ca/socwork/related_links.cfm#advocacy
A list of links to organizations whose work relates to education, research, advocacy, and professional development.

CASW-Canadian Association of Social Workers
http://www.casw-acts.ca/
In 1926 this association was formed to establish standards of practice within the profession of social work.  The association includes 15,000 members and plays an active role in the IFSW.

Education and Research (maintained by the McMaster School of Social Work)
http://www.socsci.mcmaster.ca/socwork/related_links.cfm#education
A list of links to organizations whose work relates to education, research, advocacy, and professional development.

IFSW-International Federation of Social Workers
http://www.ifsw.org/f38000041.html
The association "Recognises that social work originates variously from humanitarian, religious and democratic ideals and philosophies; and that it has universal application to meet human needs arising from personal-societal interactions, and to develop human potential."

NASW-National Association of Social Workers
http://www.naswdc.org/
This American association works to maintain professional standards and social policies.

OASW-Ontario Association of Social Workers
http://www.oasw.org/en/publicsite/about/default.asp
The OASW advocates for better social policies and practices pertaining to the profession.

Professional (maintained by the McMaster School of Social Work)
http://www.socsci.mcmaster.ca/socwork/related_links.cfm#professional
A list of links to organizations whose work relates to education, research, advocacy, and professional development.