Psychology

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Online

Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science / W. Edward Craighead, Charles B. Nemeroff, eds.

 

 

Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology/ Jon E. Roeckelein, ed.
Alphabetical listing of theories, laws and concepts studied in Psychology.
Each entry is followed by a list of references. Includes index.

Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology / Bonnie R. Strickland, ed.

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology / Roy F. Baumeister, Kathleen D. Vohs, eds.

Print

Concise Encyclopedia of Psychology / Raymond J. Corsini and Alan J. Auerbach, eds. 
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) BF 31 .E553 1996

Dictionary of Theories, Laws and Concepts in Psychology
Alphabetical listing of theories, laws and concepts studied in Psychology.
Each entry is followed by a list of references. Includes index.
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) BF 31 .R625 1998

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior
A collection of authoritative essays providing overviews on various aspects of human behaviour.
Entries include cross-references, glossaries, and selected bibliographies. Includes index.
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) BF 31 .E5 1994

Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence
Contains over 250 articles of varying lengths dealing with many aspects of human intelligence (e.g savants, intelligence quotients, etc.).
Includes bibliographies and an index.
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) BF 431 .E59 1994

Encyclopedia of Psychology / Kazdin, Alan E.
Contains reliable, concise articles on psychological concepts and topics.
Includes the history and current status of psychology in numerous foreign countries,
biographies of eminent figures in the field, and new subjects within psychology.
THODE Reference (lower level) BF 31 .E52z 2000

 

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Psychology include:

 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Data and Statistics

 

Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), SourceOECD, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.

           
Statistics
Data
...facts or figures
...raw material used to calculate statistics
...proves a point using totals, sums or averages
...used with software like SAS or SPSS
 

Statistics:

 
CANSIM II (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System): provides access to time series statistics on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
 
E-STAT: offering Census profile data for 1986 - 2006 at various levels of geography. Historical Census data is also available for 1665-1871 censuses. CANSIM time series tables are available on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
  
Canadian Census Analyzer: provides access to Census Profile Data for 1981-2006 at Enumeration Area level and Census Tract level; 1991 – 2006 at Provincial and Federal Electoral District level; and the 1971 - 2006 Individual Microdata Files.
 
Canadian Statistics - Summary Tablesthese summary tables provide an overview of statistical information on Canada's people, economy and governments.
 
Statistics Canada Publications: Full text access to more than 300 Statistics Canada publications listed by subject and Statistics Canada catalogue number.
 
 
SourceOECD: access OECD publications and statistical databases online and build your own tables in real time.
 
Global Market Information Database (GMID): Key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers around the world.
 
World Development Indicators: provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008. Available on CD-ROM network from Mills Library.
 
US Historical Census Data Browser (1790 – 1960): Access to extensive collections of historical Census numeric and geospatial data files at state and county levels.
 
US Census Bureau: provides access to a wide variety of social, demographic, economic and geographic data for US.
 
FedStats: access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies
 
Federal Electronic Research and Review Extraction Tool (Ferret): a collaborative effort between National Center for Health Statistics and the Bureau of  the Census providing access to complex large data sets

Data:

 
Survey of Labour and Income Dynamcs (SLID): household survey to provide national data on the fluctuations in income that a typical family or individual experiences over time. 1996 – 2005.
 
Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS): provides data for health regions across Canada including alcohol consumption, chronic health conditions, fruit and vegetable consumption, general health, use of health services, height and weight, injuries, physical activity, restriction of activities and smoking. 2000 – 2005.
 
General Social Survey (GSS): data on family, social support and retirement for Canadians aged 45 years and over. 1985 – 2006.
 
National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth (NLSCY): survey follows the              development of children in Canada and paints a picture of their lives. It monitors children's development and measures the incidence of various factors that influence their development, both positively and negatively. 1994 – 1999.
 
National Survey of Giving, Volunteering and Participating: thousands of Canadians        aged 15 and over were asked how they: gave money and other resources to individuals and to organizations; volunteered time to help others and to enhance their communities; and participated in the practices which help give substance to active citizenship. 1997 and 2000.
 
Canadian Census Microdata Files: Census data and microdata from 1901; 1961; 1961 – 2006 reference years of the Census.
 
Postal Code Conversion File: digital files which provide a correspondence between the Canada Post Corporation six character postal code and Statistics Canada’s standard geographical areas. 1996, 2001 and 2006.
 
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): provides access to a vast archive of social science data on a variety of subject areas such as Education,  Health Care and Facilities, US Censuses, Consumer Spending etc.
 

More Data and Statistics Resources:

Please visit “Odesi”, which houses Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be currently registered student, staff and faculty at McMaster University.

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

Best Bet!PsycINFO

ASSIA (Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts)

ISI Web of Knowledge

Child Development Abstracts and Bibliography
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) ZHQ 750 .A1C47

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

ERIC/AE Test Locator
http://ericae.net/testcol.htm

Mental Health InfoSource Disorder Links
http://www.mhsource.com/disorders

PsychCentral
http://psychcentral.com/resources/

PsychCrawler
http://www.psychcrawler.com

Psychology Virtual Library
http://www.clas.ufl.edu/users/gthursby/psi/

Social Psychology Network
http://www.socialpsychology.org

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Workshop on Artificial Intelligence
MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 SC 10 - 83P01

Mental Illness and Violence: proof or stereotype?
MILLS GovPubs CA1 HW 270 - 96M23

Citation and Style Guides

These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
The style manual used by most writers and students of psychology.
Describes many of the mechanical aspects of APA style, including endnotes and references.
MILLS Quick Ref (1st floor) BF 76.7 .P83 2001

Writing Papers in Psychology: A Student Guide
Concisely and clearly outlines the steps involved in researching and writing psychology papers.
MILLS Ref (2nd floor) BF 76.7 .R67 1995