Political Science

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Institutions
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JA 61 .B56 1987

Blackwell Encyclopaedia of Political Thought
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JA 61 .B57 1987

Encyclopedia of Governance
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JC 11 .E53 2007

Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JA 61 .E54 2005

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) H 41 .I58 2001

International Relations: A Political Dictionary
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JX 1226 .P55 1995

New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CB 9 .N49 2005

Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JA 61 .O95 2001

Palgrave MacMillan Dictionary of Political Thought
e-Book

Political Handbook of the World
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JF 37 .P76
MILLS Bookstarcks (4th floor) JF 37 .P76 (1931-1986)

Political Parties of the World
MILLS Reference JF 2051 .D39

Routledge Encyclopedia of International Political Economy
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HF 1359 .R68 2001

World Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) JF 2011 .W67 1999

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Political Science include:

 

 
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Your Topic

 

Think Tanks

Note:  A think tank is an organization that conducts research pertaining to issues such as social policy, science and technology, and business policy.  Think tanks often engage in advocacy.  As a result, the findings produced by think tanks may reflect particular political viewpoints.  Researchers should be aware of such biases when using these sources.

 

 

 

 

Websites

Hillwatch.com:  Think Tanks

 

 

 

This site produced by Hillwatch, a government relations firm, provides a thorough listing of national and international think tanks.  This web page is a good starting point for research involving think tanks.

Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives

 

 

 

 

An institute concerned with issues pertaining to social, economic, and environmental policy. 

Canadian Economics Association
An organization consisting of "Academic Economists."  The association is responsible for the publication of The Canadian Journal of Economics.

The C.D. Howe Institute
A non-profit organization interested in the Canadian standard of living.  The institute is concerned with social and economic policy.

Centre for the Study of Living Standards
This non profit organization is primarily interested in trends relating to economic and social well being.

Conference Board of Canada
Specializes in economic trends, organizational performance, and public policy.

The Fraser Institute

Studies a broad range of topics including taxes, immigration, health care, and education.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Newspapers

McMaster owns newspapers from around the world, both in print and online. Search the library calatogue for the name of the newspaper to see our holdings and for more information on how to find newspapers, see "How to Find" on the library main page, then click "Newspapers".

Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage from 1844

Electronic full-page newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844, current 4 years embargoed. Coverage includes all the stories, plus thousands of images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era

The Historical New York Times 

Our ProQuest subscription offers full page and article images with searchable fulltext back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. The public site offers full text from 1851 to 1922, and 1987 to the present; for 1923 to 1986 it offers only brief previews of articles, no full text.

Factiva

A multi-disciplinary database that provides access to current and archived news and business information worldwide. The database contains content from more than 25,000 sources from 157 countries in 23 languages. Note: only 6 simultaneous users

 

 

 

 

LexisNexis

LexisNexis provides access to over 5,000 sources covering a wide range of subject areas. The product is divided into the following sections: General searching, News, US/International Legal, Companies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For more newspapers, both online and print, visit this site.

Data and Statistics

 

Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), SourceOECD, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.

           
Statistics
Data
...facts or figures
...raw material used to calculate statistics
...proves a point using totals, sums or averages
...used with software like SAS or SPSS
 

Statistics:

 
CANSIM II (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System): provides access to time series statistics on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
 
E-STAT: offering Census profile data for 1986 - 2006 at various levels of geography. Historical Census data is also available for 1665-1871 censuses. CANSIM time series tables are available on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
 
Canadian Census Analyzer: provides access to Census Profile Data for 1981-2006 at Enumeration Area level and Census Tract level; 1991 – 2006 at Provincial and Federal Electoral District level; and the 1971 - 2006 Individual Microdata Files.
 
Canadian Statistics - Summary Tablesthese summary tables provide an overview of statistical information on Canada's people, economy and governments.
 
Statistics Canada Publications: Full text access to more than 300 Statistics Canada publications listed by subject and Statistics Canada catalogue number.
 
 
SourceOECD: access OECD publications and statistical databases online and build your own tables in real time.
 
Bureau of Labor Statistics: the principal fact-finding agency for the US Federal  Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
 
US Census of Population and Housing: data ranges from most recent census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades.
 
US Census Bureauprovides access to a wide variety of social, demographic, economic and geographic data for US.
 
FedStats: access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies on variety of topics such as labor, income, national accounts, education etc.
 
World Development Indicators: provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008. Available on CD-ROM network from Mills Library.

Data:

 
Labour Force Survey (LFS): household survey carried out monthly. Data provide information on major labour market trends such as shifts in employment across industrial sectors, hours worked, labour force participation and unemployment rates. 1976 – 2008.
 
Survey of Household Spending (SHS): detailed information on household expenditures, dwelling characteristics, and ownership of household equipment such as appliances, communications and entertainment equipment, and vehicles. 1997 – 2006.
 
General Social Survey (GSS): data on family, social support and retirement for Canadians aged 45 years and over. 1985 – 2006.
 
Canadian Opinion Research Archive (CORA): extensive collections of polling and social survey data.
 
Household Internet Use Survey (HIUS): provide information on the use of computers  for communication purposes, and households' access and use of the Internet from home.1997 – 2003.
 
Canadian Census Microdata Files: Census data and microdata from 1901; 1961; 1961 – 2006 reference years of the Census.
 
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): provides access to a vast archive of social science data on a variety of subject areas such as Education,  Health Care and Facilities, US Censuses, Consumer Spending etc.
 

Polling:

Please visit “Odesi”, which houses Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be currently registered student, staff and faculty at McMaster University.

Gallup Briefs (e-Journal)
Covers rapid measurements and assessments of public opinion concerning virtually every political, social, and economic issue facing the United States and the world.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium on Political and Social Research)
ICPSR offers more than 500,000 digital files containing social science research data. Disciplines represented include political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, terrorism, health and medical care, early education, education, racial and ethnic minorities, psychology, law, substance abuse and mental health, and more.

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is a collection of monograph publications from Canadian public policy institutes, government agencies, advocacy groups, think-tanks, university research centres and other public interest groups. The organizations included in this collection represent the leading edge of primary research and opinion in all areas of Canadian public policy. Their publications are vital to the understanding of developing issues in every arena of Canadian public life.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CPI.Q
Covers about 1.8 million articles from nearly 700 Canadian journals and magazines (English and French). Full text to 165 periodicals from 1983 to the present, and of selected sections of the Globe and Mail newspaper (Toronto) from 1997 to the present. Covers a broad range of subjects including current events, health, technology, the arts, history, literature, culture and business; emphasis on mainstream and academic titles available in Canadian libraries.

International Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts of articles in the field of political science published in journals (and yearbooks) all over the world. The scope of the discipline is that of the major political science journals.

Best Bet! PAIS International

An index to the literature of public affairs, covering topical public and social issues and the making and evaluating of public policy. Contains references to more than 553,300 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Searchable abstracts of 750,000+ articles from more than 518 English-language periodicals in both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, with 47,000+ new records added annually.

Best Bet! Scholars Portal

A search engine used to support all McMaster's Scholars Portal databases. There are more than 60 Scholars Portal databases available to McMaster users, and they cover a variety of subjects.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Best Bet! Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides over 436,000 citations and abstracts indexing approximately 1,432 international serials in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Includes the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, 1984-2000. Many records from key journals in political science, published since 2000, also include the references cited in the bibliography of the source article. All records added since 2000 are indexed using a thesaurus of over 3,000 terms.

 

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Constitutions of the Countries of the World
http://guide.lp.findlaw.com/01topics/06constitutional/03forconst

Ontario E-Laws (Ontario Statutes and Regulations)
http://www.e-laws.gov.on.ca/

IPSAPortal
http://ipsaportal.unina.it/
The portal of the International Political Science Association and an official online IPSA publication. Hundreds of useful, rich and qualitatively outstanding websites for political science are selected, rewieved and evaluated by IPSA in order to provide scholars and students of the discipline worldwide an useful tool for online research. Among others, crucial information about the nature, quantity and retrievability of the content, the easiness of access and use and the fee policy of each site are provided.

Library of Congress Country Studies
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html

Middle East Studies Internet Resources (Columbia University)
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/lweb/indiv/mideast/cuvlm/

Policy.ca
http://www.policy.ca/
A non-partisan resource for public discussion of issues in Canadian public policy. This site consists of a constantly growing database of online public policy research publications, as well as information on policy organizations, institutes and researchers. This unique clearinghouse for public policy is carefully managed and updated to provide users with a balanced review and examination of current developments in public policy.

Political Information
http://www.politicalinformation.com/
A search engine for politics, policy, and political news. Provides access to over 5000 web sites that can be searched by broad categories such as campaigns/elections; Federal/State Government; grassroots; parties and organizations; and research tools.

Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
http://www.psr.keele.ac.uk/

UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System)
http://unbisnet.un.org/
UNBISnet documents and publications indexed by the UN Dag Hammarskjöld Library and the Library of the UN Office at Geneva. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis as a result of retrospective conversion. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.

Web Sites of National Parliaments
http://wc.wustl.edu/parliaments.html

World Factbook
https://www.cia.gov/cia/publications/factbook/index.html

WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
http://www.etown.edu/vl/

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Citation and Style Guides

These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

 APA Guide

This guide is based on the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association(Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association, 2010). The new 6th ed. of the manual can be found at the Research Help desk of Mills (1st floor), Thode, and Innis at REF BF 76.7 .P83 2010.

MLA Guide

This guide is based on the 7th edition of MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers (New York: Modern Language Association of America, 2009). This handbook can be found at the Mills Research Help Desk (1st floor) at LB 2369 .G53 2009.

Turabian (Chicago) Guide

This guide is based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (Mills Quick Reference 1st floor LB 2369.T8 2007) and The Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed. (available online and in print at Mills Quick Reference 1st floor Z 253.C53 2003).