Peace Studies
Reference
Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
David Robertson
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) K 3239.3 .R67 2004
Heidi Burgess
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) HM 136 .B783 1997 or Online
Tom Woodhouse
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JZ 6374 .R36 1999
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JZ 6374 .R36 1999
Lester R. Kurtz
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) HM 1116 .E53 1999
Charles Webel
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JZ 5538 .H36 2007
Gavriel Salomon
Online
Larry Kuehn
Online
Morton Deutsch
Online
James R. Lewis
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JC 571 .L523 2001
Dan Smith
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) G 1046 .R1 K47 2003
Javier Pérez de Cuéllar
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) JZ 5533 .W67 1999
Books
Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.
Some basic subject headings for Peace Studies include:
Articles/Databases
Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Article Databases / IndexesAluka: Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa
A definitive collection for students of history, social science and current events, providing insight into conflicts and their multiple causes.
JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR is a backfile collection and excludes the most recent issues. Each journal has a moving wall of three to five years after which the current issues are added to JSTOR.
Contains descriptive summaries of literature published world-wide on conflict resolution, peace studies and international relations; selected from journal articles, books, conference proceedings and other materials; about 600-700 abstracts in each issue.
Includes the full-text of 24 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 10,000 articles. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article.
Provides abstracts (summaries) of books, journal articles, conference proceedings, magazines, and unpublished reports in the field of interpersonal violence.
Provides over 436,000 citations and abstracts indexing approximately 1,432 international serials in political science and its complementary fields.
|
Websites
The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.
The purpose of the Canadian Centres for Teaching Peace is to bring together all peoples of the world in the promotion of lasting peace through "thinking globally and acting locally", building peace in the community, strategic action planning, networking, information sharing, etc. It is intended to enhance cooperation between nations, cultivate goodwill and peaceful understanding among people, and promote human and economic development.
For more than a decade the Centre for Conflict Resolution has been at the forefront of developing new ideas about conflict resolution mediation peacekeeping and peacebuilding. It has developed an international reputation for the practical application of these ideas in war zones and communities riven by conflicts.
The Center for Systematic Peace is engaged in innovative research on the problem of political violence within the structural context of the dynamic global system, that is, global systems analysis. The Center supports scientific research and quantitative analysis in many issue areas related to the fundamental problems of violence in both human relations and societal development.
The Institute conducts independent research on conventional and non-conventional security issues in the region and shares its findings with policy makers and the public. It provides a forum for discussion with the strategic community on strategic issues and strives to explore alternatives.
Academic, multidisciplinary, international and independent, PRIO is a key institution within peace research. The International Peace Research Institute, Oslo (PRIO) has as its mission to conduct high-quality academic research on questions relevant to the promotion of a more peaceful world. They are an independent and international institute.
Includes a list of resources from the UN including peacekeeping operations, security council, disarmament, land mines, and areas currently experiencing conflict.
The United States Institute of Peace is an independent, nonpartisan institution established and funded by Congress. Its goals are to help prevent and resolve violent international conflicts, promote post-conflict stability and development, and increase conflict management capacity, tools, and intellectual capital worldwide.
See also Related Sites from the McMaster Centre for Peace Studies.
Associations & Organizations
Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.
Government Sources
Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.
Index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.

