Entrepreneurship and Innovation

Course code: MEEI | MTEI
Course name: Master’s of Engineering Entrepreneurship and Innovation | Master’s of Technology Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Course date: Fall 2011

This research guide identifies secondary sources of information available via the Library, the Internet and MaRS.

Industry and Market Company Consumer

 

Industry and Market Resources

  • Alacra Industry Spotlights
    Provides reviews and commentary on the best web-based sources of industry specific content.
     
  • Best Bet! Business Monitor International 
    Covers over 20 industries including autos, chemicals, commercial banking, defence & security, food & drink, freight transport, information technology, infrastructure, insurance, oil & gas, petrochemicals, pharmaceuticals, telecommunications, tourism. Industry reports are available for countries worldwide.
  • Best Bet! Business Source Complete
    Contains Datamonitor industry profiles (overview, market value) and market research reports for countries around the world.
     
  • CorporateInformation
    Provides information on 30 industries and 60 countries. Get a list of companies covered in a particular industry and a list of relevant links and a brief synopsis of the industry.
     
  • Encyclopedia of Global Industries
    Profiles over 100 business sectors of global significance. Entries typically include sections on organization and structure, background and development, current conditions, research and technology, industry leaders and further reading. Organized alphabetically by industry (NAICS code).
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2324.E53 2007
     
  • Encyclopedia of Products & Industries - Manufacturing (2008) via Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) (Once connected to GVRL, click on Business > Encyclopedia of Products & Industries > eTable of Contents OR eBook Index to find an industry profile)
    Contains information on products and the relationships between products and their industries. Explores various aspects of a product - the manufacturers, suppliers, immediate and adjacent industries and markets. Covers manufacturers of numerous durable goods such as tires, appliances, home furnishing and sporting goods. U.S. emphasis.
     
  • Best Bet! Factiva
    Select the Companies/Markets tab and then the Industry link to view a list of snapshots for over 60 industries such as biotechnology, building construction, environment/waste management, health care, pharmaceuticals, semiconductors, telecommunications, and more. Click on an industry name to find targeted news, reports, charts, analysis and financial data.
     
  • Best Bet! IBISWorld
    Contains over 700 U.S. and over 100 global industry reports at the five digit NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) level. 
     
  • Manufacturing Worldwide: Industry Analyses, Statistics, Products, and Leading Companies and Countries
    Provides manufacturing industry statistics for 190 countries around the world.
    Location: MILLS Bookstacks HD 9720.4 M36 1995 & 1998
     
  • Market Share Reporter
    A compilation of global market share data from periodical literature, competitive analysis and market research. Search by products and services; by company; by brands, by U.S. SIC and more.
    Location: INNIS Reference HF 5410.M35 2011 & 2012 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks (previously titled World Market Share Reporter INNIS Bookstacks HD 2757.15 .W67 1997 to 2002).
     
  • Market Share Tracker 3rd ed.
    Provides market share data for top companies in each sector in 2001/2002. Identifies leading 5,200 companies worldwide.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2757.15. G56 2003
     
  • Marketing Charts
    Contains statistics, charts and articles on the top players within a specific category such as automotive, retail, entertainment, advertising and more.
     
  • Best Bet! MarketResearch.com Academic
    Contains hundreds of detailed market research reports. U.S. focus.
     
  • Best Bet! MaRS Market Intelligence Resources
    Full-text reports from the following sources are only accessible to McMaster students currently enrolled in the MEEI and MTEI graduate programs. These market intelligence resources are made available through an organization called MaRS. The Library is not a subscriber. Access to reports are not directly or immediately available from the sites listed below. To acquire reports, MEEI and MTEI students must submit a market intelligence request form to ttresearch@marsdd.com, along with the details of specific reports (i.e., author, title, publication date, publisher/vendor). NOTE: Some publishers/vendors provide limited access to their reports, so not all publications listed at the sites below will be available through MaRS.
  • Best Bet! Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
    Provides key business intelligence on markets and consumers around the world. Try performing a keyword search for your industry.

Company Resources

  • Best Bet! Business Source Complete
    Contains international company profiles, some with a SWOT (strengths, weaknesses, opportunities and threats) analysis.
     
  • Company Annual Reports
    The sources included on this guide identify key sites for locating the annual reports of publicly traded companies worldwide.
     
  • EuroPages: The European B2B Search Engine
    A multilingual business directory containing 2.3 million companies from 35 countries in Europe & links to international yellow pages. Search by product or service, by company name, or by activity or sector.
     
  • Best Bet! Factiva
    Select the Companies/Markets tab, then the Company link. Search by a company name, ticker and more. Company snapshots include share price information, peer comparisons, financials, key executives, and current news headlines.
     
  • Hoover's via LexisNexis
     
  • International Directory of Company Histories 99 vols
    Traces the historical development of over 4,500 of the largest and most influential public, private and non-profit companies around the world. Each volume has cumulative indexes: by company name (alphabetical), by industry, and by geography (country of company headquarters).
    Location: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2721.I57
     
  • Best Bet! LexisNexis Academic
     
  • Best Bet! Mergent Online
    Contains company and financial data for publicly traded companies around the world. Search by company name, ticker or American SIC or NAICS.
     
  • Moody's/Mergent's International Manual, 1981-2008 [microfiche]
    Financial and business information on 11,000 corporations, sovereigns and institutions in 117 countries.
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 2755.5 .M6 [microfiche](grey filing cabinets)
     

Consumer Resources

  • American Time Use: Who Spends How Long At What
    Location: INNIS Reference HD 69 .T54A46 2007

  •  Best customers : demographics of consumer demand, 7th ed.
    Identifies who the best customers are for selected products and services. U.S. focus. 
    Location: INNIS Reference HC 79 .C6B47 2010 (previous editions in INNIS Bookstacks)

  • Canadian Social Trends (Statistics Canada)
    Publication discusses the social, economic, and demographic changes affecting the lives of Canadians. It contains the latest figures for major social indicators. Look for articles by year or by subject.
    Location of Print: MILLS GovPubs (2nd floor) CA1 BS11-C008 (1986 to current)

  • Best Bet! Consumer Lifestyles via Passport GMID
    Once connected, click on Countries & Consumers (across top of screen)>choose Consumer Trends and Lifestyles from the menu>select a country from the Consumer Lifestyles drop-down menu. Profiles include analysis of household profiles, income, education, eating and drinking habits, shopping habits, leisure and tourism.

  • FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
    Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
    Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks)

  • Trend Briefings (trendwatching.com), 2002 to current
    Monthly bulletins which profile emerging consumer trends worldwide.
  • Who Buys What (Euromonitor)
    INNIS Reference: HF 5415.32 .W468 2006

  • World dataBank (World Bank)
    The World Development Indicators database covers more than 900 indicators for 210 economies with data back to 1960. Search by country, series/topic and year.

    Last Reviewed: April 11, 2012