Materials Science & Engineering

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS

Access Engineering

ASM Handbooks
Thode Ref. TA 459 .A51M

CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook 3rd ed.
Thode Ref. TA 403.4 .C74 2001

Handbook of Advanced Materials
Thode Ref. TA 403.4 .H34 2004

Handbook of Materials Selection
Thode Ref. TA 403.4 .H368 2001

Materials Handbook:  A Concise Desktop Reference 2nd ed.

Materials Handbook:  An Encyclopedia for Managers, Technical Professionals, Purchasing and Production Managers 15th ed.

______________________________________________________________________________________

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Concise Encyclopedia of Materials Characterization 2nd ed.
Thode Ref. TA 402 .C659 2005

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (5 vols.)
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35D43 2004

Encyclopedia of Advanced Materials (4 vols.)
Thode Ref. TA 404.8 .E53 1994

Encyclopedia of Corrosion Technology 2nd ed.
Thode Ref. TA 418.74 .S383 2004

Encyclopedia of Materials, Parts and Finishes 2nd ed.
Thode Ref. TA 418.9 .S62S39 2002

Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering  (8 vols. and 3 suppls.)
Thode Ref. TA 402 .E53 1986b

Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology (10 vols.)
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35E53 2004

Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology
Thode Ref. TP 1110 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Smart Materials (2 vols.)
Thode Ref. TA 418.9 .S62E63 2002

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

 

Article Databases / Indexes

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX
(1966 to present) Contains specialist content on materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering application.

Science Citation Index Expanded - Web of Science
(1976 to present); Covers all sciences and indexes primarily journal literature (no patents, conference proceedings or book chapters are indexed); unique feature is the ability to search for citation of publications by an author.

INSPEC (Engineering Village 2)
Primarily a physics/astronomy, electrical engineering and computers database; good coverage of inorganic chemistry and materials science

Engineered Materials Abstracts
(1986 to present) Covers the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics and composites.

SciFinder Scholar
(1909 to present; includes Medline from 1950 to present); Major bibliographic database for all aspects of chemistry; also covers chemical engineering, biochemistry and related sciences

Selected Journals

 

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

TechXtra
http://www.techxtra.ac.uk
Resource discovery tool for engineering, mathematics and computing

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

American Ceramic Society
http://ceramics.staging.10floor.com/index.aspx
The ACerS mission is to serve the informational, educational and professional needs of the international ceramics community

ASM International, the Materials Information Society
http://asmcommunity.asminternational.org/portal/site/asm/
“ASM International, the Materials Information Society, is the premiere resource for information and networking for materials engineers, scientists, researchers, teachers, and students. ASM’s mission is to benefit the materials community by providing scientific, engineering and technical knowledge, education, networking and professional development.”

MRS: Materials Research Society
http://www.mrs.org/s_mrs/index.asp
The Society’s core principles include interdisciplinarity, focused symposia, and greater interaction among researchers as related to materials science.

OCE: Ontario Centres of Excellence
http://www.oce-ontario.org/Pages/Home.aspx
The Ontario Centres of Excellence is the pre-eminent research-to-commercialization vehicle in Ontario. Created in response to Ontario’s most critical competitive challenges, OCE facilitate economic growth through support for industrially relevant R&D, the opening of new market opportunities and the commercialization of leading edge discovery. OCE build strong industry and academic relationships. And, OCE stimulate knowledge transfer through the development of bright minds, moving their skills to the market.

PEO: Professional Engineers Ontario
http://www.peo.on.ca/
Professional Engineers Ontario licenses Ontario’s 70,000 professional engineers, grants temporary, limited and provisional licences to practise professional engineering, and authorizes businesses to provide engineering services to the public. It sets standards for and regulates engineering practice. Under the Professional Engineers Act, its statutory mandate is to serve and protect the public interest where engineering is concerned. Rigorously educated, experienced and committed to a Code of Ethics that puts the public first, licensed professional engineers can be identified by the P.Eng. after their names.

 

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

National Technical Information Service
http://www.ntis.gov/
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.

Patents

 

Canadian Patents Database

The database contains patent documents from 1869 to the present. This database is updated regularly with newly granted patents and applications opened to public inspection. The electronically available patent information consists of patent document images and bibliographic and text data.

European Patent Office Database (esp@cenet)

esp@cenet is the freely available database to patent information. European patents are searchable in the esp@cenet database. The full text images of the documents in esp@cenet are available as PDF files.

 

 

 

FreePatentsOnline.com

FreePatentsOnline.com provides fast, easy-to-use and free access to millions of patents and patent applications.

 

Google Patents

Searchable full text/full page images of U.S. patents from USPTO. It is an alternative interface to searching USPTO. It is google, so it is easy to search.

 

Japan Patent Office

JPO is one of the three main international patent offices (i.e. the United States, Japan, and the European Union). This Database on the Web can be accessed free of charge by anyone from any computer having an ordinary web browser.

Lexis-Nexis

For United States patents look under Basic Legal and then under Patent Research and then Patents.

MicroPatent Materials Patents

The database is powered by Scholars Portal Search, which contains US and European patents related to materials science and engineering.

PatentScope / WIPO

This facility allows you to search 1,374,585 international patent applications and to view the latest information and documents to the International Bureau.

United States Patent and Trademark Office

Searchable, full-text database from January 1, 1976 onward (full-page images since1790). To view and print patents in PDF for free, a viewer software needs to be installed.