History - Medieval

Your Subject Librarian
Olga Perkovic

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Atlases

Atlas of European History
MILLS Bookstacks G 1796 S1F
MILLS Maps (1st Floor) G 1796 S1F

Atlas of Medieval Europe
MILLS Maps (1st Floor) G1791 .M2 1997
Link to online resource McMaster Use Only

The Complete Atlas of World History (vol. 2)
MILLS Maps (1st Floor) G 1030 .C66 1997

Bibliographies

Bibliography of English History to 1485
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) ZDA 130 .B5 1975

Bibliography of English Translations from Medieval Sources
MILLS Bookstacks ZPN 665 .F242

Bibliography of English Translations from Medieval Sources, 1943-1967
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) ZPN 665 .F4

Late medieval England (1377-1485) : a bibliography of historical scholarship, 1990-1999
MILLS Bookstacks Z 2017 .R69 2003

Medieval Narrative Sources: A Chronological Guide
MILLS Bookstacks ZD 113 .B25 

Medieval Studies: A Bibliographical Guide
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) ZCB 351 .C76

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Medieval Civilization
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) CB 351 .D24 1984

Dictionary of Medieval Terms and Phrases
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) DA 129 .C67 2004

Dictionary of the Middle Ages (13 volumes)
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) D 114 .D5 1982

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Supplement 1
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) D 114 .D5 1982 suppl.

Chronologies

A Note-book of Mediaeval History: A.D. 323 – A.D. 1453
MILLS Bookstacks D 118 .B4 1971

Chronology of the Medieval World: 800-1491
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) D 188 .S855 1994
MILLS Bookstacks D 188 .S855 1994

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Medieval World
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) D 114 .E55 2005

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Link to online resource McMaster Use Only

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) D 125 .M42 2001
Link to online resource McMaster Use Only

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia
MILLS Reference (2 nd Floor) DA 129 .M43 1998

New Cambridge Medieval History
MILLS Bookstacks D 117 .N48 1995

Directories

Great Lives from History: Ancient and Medieval Series (5 volumes)
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) CT 113 .G74 1988

Who's Who in Late Medieval England
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) DA 28 .W594 v.3

Who's Who in the Middle Ages
MILLS Reference(2nd Floor) CT 114 .S56 2001

Primary Texts

Primary texts may be the literary works themselves (manuscripts, novels, poems, short stories, diaries, etc.) or first-hand accounts of an event or a person's life or work. These include letters, autobiographies, posters, diaries, archival materials, and photographs. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Project MUSE

This database is a project of Johns Hopkins University Press in collaboration with the Milton S. Eisenhower Library that provides online, worldwide institutional subscription access to the full text of over 300 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Subject Headings for Primary Sources

 

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Use McMaster's Endeca library catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies. You can search by title, journal title, author, subject, call number or anywhere .

To search the catalogue for a specific title, enter the title into the search box and select in Title from the drop down menu.

The Medieval Marriage Scene

To find books by a particular author/person, search by in Author

Colin Platt OR Platt, Colin

To find books about a particular person/author or topic, search by in Subject

Geoffery Chaucer OR Chaucer, Geoffery

Medieval Rhetoric

Some basic subject headings for medieval history include:

To find further subject headings select the title of a relevant source to link to the full record and look at the headings listed under Subjects

If you do not know the correct subject heading for a topic:

  • Enter in the word(s) that describe the topic
  • Select Anywhere from the drop down menu beside the search box
  • This will allow the catalogue to search for the word(s) anywhere in the books' records.
New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Medieval History

 

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
http://eudocs.lib.byu.edu/

NetSURF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources
http://www.netserf.org/

The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
http://www.the-orb.net/

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Digital Scriptorium: An image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts
http://www.scriptorium.columbia.edu/

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
http://www.haverford.edu/library/reference/mschaus/mfi/mfi.html

Internet Medieval Sourcebook
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/sbook.html

The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
http://labyrinth.georgetown.edu

Medieval Women: An Interactive Exploration
http://mw.mcmaster.ca/home.html

Monastic Matrix: A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 AD
http://monasticmatrix.usc.edu/