Health Studies

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Health Studies include:

Alternative medicine
Health care reform
Health gender differences
Health planning
Health services
Health technologies
Medical policy
Public health
Sociology of disability
Women's health

New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Health Studies


 

Data and Statistics

Data and Statistical resources are available from various sources such as Statistics Canada, Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR), SourceOECD, IMF etc. The links below will help you to identify data and statistical resources available for your research.

Statistics
Data
...facts or figures
...raw material used to calculate statistics
...proves a point using totals, sums or averages
...used with software like SAS or SPSS
 

Statistics:

 
CANSIM II (Canadian Socio-Economic Information Management System): provides access to time series statistics on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
 
E-STAT: offering Census profile data for 1986 - 2006 at various levels of geography. Historical Census data is also available for 1665-1871 censuses. CANSIM time series tables are available on a broad variety of subject areas including Economic Accounts, Labour, Income, Health etc.
 
Health Indicators: 80 indicators measuring health status, non-medical determinants of health, health–system performance and community and health-system characteristics.
 
Health Regions: provides access to population estimates, health region digital boundary files and correspondence files (linking health regions to census geographic codes). 2000.
 
Health Statistics at a Glance: provides statistical report on the health of Canadians, 17  Health Reports srticles cited in the Statistical Report and all of the components of Health Indicators including Causes of Death. 1999.
 
Health Indicators Database: provides a set of core data for the examination of the health situation in Canada. Aggregated data are organized into four categories: determinants of health, health status, health resources, and health utilization. 1996, 1997, 1999.
 
Occupational Surveillance in Canada - Cause Specific Mortality among Workers: helps identify occupational groups across Canada with excessive mortality due to specific causes. It also provides a Canadian monitoring system to detect previously unsuspected associations between, for example, cancer and occupation and provides a powerful tool for both generating and testing hypotheses. 1965-1991.
 
Canadian Statistics - Summary Tablesthese summary tables provide an overview of         statistical information on Canada's people, economy and governments.
 
Canadian Census Analyzer: provides access to Census Profile Data for 1981-2006 at Enumeration Area level and Census Tract level; 1991 – 2006 at Provincial and Federal Electoral District level; and the 1971 - 2006 Individual Microdata Files.
 
Statistics Canada Publications: Full text access to more than 300 Statistics Canada publications listed by subject and Statistics Canada catalogue number.
 
National Health Expenditure Trends 1975 – 2008: contains a historical series of macro level health expenditure statistics by province and territory beginning in 1975.
 
 
US Census Bureauprovides access to a wide variety of social, demographic, economic and geographic data for US.
 
FedStats: access to statistics and information produced by more than 100 U.S. Federal Government agencies.
 
Federal Electronic Research and Review Extraction Tool (Ferret): a collaborative effort between National Center for Health Statistics and the Bureau of  the Census providing access to complex large data sets.
 
OECD Health Data:comparable statistics on health and health systems across the 30 OECD countries. Comparative analysis on health status, risk factors to health (including smoking and obesity), health care resources and utilization (including the supply and activities of doctors), Long-term care resources and utilization, Health expenditure and its financing, Social protection (including public health coverage and private health insurance), Pharmaceutical markets. 2009.
 
World Development Indicators: provides direct access to more than 600 development indicators, with time series for 208 countries and 18 country groups from 1960 to 2008. Available on CD-ROM network from Mills Library.
 
SourceOECD: access OECD publications and statistical databases online and build your own tables in real time.
 

Data:

 
Canadian Community Health Survey (CCHS): provides data for health regions across Canada including alcohol consumption, chronic health conditions, fruit and vegetable consumption, general health, use of health services, height and weight, injuries, physical activity, restriction of activities and smoking. 2000 – 2005.
 
National Population Health Survey (NPHS): sample of approximately 20,000 households starting in 1994 and conducted every two years. The survey is designed to collect information on the health of the Canadian population and related socio-demographic information. 1994 – 1998.
 
National Longitudinal Survey of Children and Youth (NLSCY): survey follows the development of children in Canada and paints a picture of their lives. It monitors children's development and measures the incidence of various factors that influence their development, both positively and negatively. 1994 – 1999.
 
Health and Activity Limitation Survey: provides information on the employment and education characteristics of persons aged 15 to 64 residing in households, both for persons with disabilities and non-disabled persons. It also includes information on the barriers faced by persons with disabilities in the areas of employment. 1986 and 1991.
 
Health Behaviour in School-Aged Children:  The overall goal of the survey is to gain new insights into and to increase our understanding of health behaviours, lifestyles and their context in young people. The study also aims at increasing the understanding of how young people perceive health itself. 1997, 1998.
 
Health Promotion Survey: Although this survey has been discontinued, it remains a source of historical data on the health of Canadians, and some products and services are still available. 1985 and 1990.
 
The Canadian Heart Health Database: consists of two data sets — core information collected by all Provincial Heart Health Surveys and Family History information collected by four provinces — Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan and Alberta. The core information has data on major biological risk factors (blood pressure and blood lipid) and information on knowledge and awareness of causes and consequences of cardiovascular diseases and associated risk factors. 1986 – 1992.  (Available through Library Data Service)
 
Youth Smoking Survey: provide current information on the smoking behaviour of students in grades 5 to 9 (in Quebec primary school grades 5 and 6 and secondary school grades 1 to 3), and to measure changes that occurred since 1994. 1994, 2002, 2004 and 2006.
 
Canadian Census Microdata Files: Census data and microdata from 1901; 1961; 1961 – 2006 reference years of the Census.
 
General Social Survey (GSS): data on family, social support and retirement for Canadians aged 45 years and over. 1985 – 2006.
 
Survey on Ageing and Independence (SAI): national level estimates on seniors                 concerning their health, social and economic situations. 1991.
 
 
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR): provides access to a vast archive of social science data on a variety of subject areas such as Education,  Health Care and Facilities, US Censuses, Consumer Spending etc.
 

More Data and Statistics Resources:

Please visit “Odesi”, which houses Statistics Canada datasets, data files from Gallup Canada and other polling companies, public-domain files such as the Canadian National Election Surveys and selected files from the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR).

The files can be searched, browsed, analyzed and downloaded in various formats. You must be currently registered student, staff and faculty at McMaster University.

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Canadian Health Network
http://www.canadian-health-network.ca/

Canadian Public Policy Collection
electronic database

Canadian Research Index, Microlog. V.10 (1988)- (monthly)
Indexes significant Canadian government reports (federal, provincial, municipal) including research papers in physical, natural and social sciences. All reports are available in the Library on microfiche.
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA7 MC M31
Also available as an electronic index in Gov Pubs: Canadian Research Index. 1982- (quarterly)

Health Indicators - Statistics Canada
http://www.statcan.ca/bsolc/english/bsolc?catno=82-221-X&CHROPG=1

Public Health Agency of Canada
http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca

United Nations - Health
http://www.un.org/issues/m-health.html