GIS
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are computer systems of software and hardware that allow the storage, manipulation, analysis and display of geographic information.
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
AGI GIS Dictionary - Online resource
A to Z GIS: An Illustrated Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems - Mills Maps (1st floor) G 70.212 .A86 2006
The ESRI Press Dictionary of GIS Terminology - Mills Maps (1st floor) G 70.212 .E87 2001
Elsevier's Dictionary of Geographic Information Systems in English, German, French and Russian - Thode Reference G 70.212 .D454 2002
The Handbook of Geographic Information Science - Mills Bookstacks G 70.2 .H356 2008 or Online resource (Ebook version)
Encyclopedia of GIS - Online resource (Ebook version)
Encyclopedia of Geographic Information Science - Online resource
Books
Some basic subject headings for GIS and related subjects include:
Articles about Geographic Information Systems may also be found in the literature of other disciplines who are using this tool. Searth Geographic Information Systems and then "Search Within Results" for your discipline. Or search for your subject and then "Search Within Results" for Geographic Information Systems.
Selected Books of Interest
Introduction to Geographic Information Systems, 4th ed. - Kang-Tsung Chang - Thode Bookstacks G 70.212 .C4735 2008
Geographic Information Systems Demystified - Stephen Galati - Online (Ebook version)
Software Manuals
A small collection of software manuals is available in the Map Collection, for use in the Gateway Data/GIS Lab (Mills Library Room 111). If you want to borrow a software manual for use outside the Library, check for copies in Thode Library.
Data and Statistics
GIS data and services are provided by the GIS Librarian (Mills Library Room 108). To make an appointment, please call (905) 525-9140 ext. 21573 or email libgis @ mcmaster.ca
Available GIS data files are described at http://library.mcmaster.ca/maps/geospatial. Many other datasets are available. Contact the GIS Librarian for more information.
Geographic Info Systems
GIS data and services are provided by the GIS Librarian (Mills Library Room 108). To make an appointment, please call (905) 525-9140 ext. 21573 or email libgis @ mcmaster.ca
Available GIS data files are described at http://library.mcmaster.ca/maps/geospatial. Many other datasets are available. Contact the GIS Librarian for more information.

