Gerontology

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Aging [electronic resource] 2002                                                                                          
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1061.E534 2002

The Encyclopedia of Aging: a Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics 2 v. 2006
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1061.E53 2006

Encyclopedia of Aging and Public Health  [electronic resource] 2008     

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging  [electronic resource] 2007

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences 26 v. 2001
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) H 41 .I58 2001

The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care 2001
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) RC 954.E53 2001                                                                                      

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Gerontology 1988
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1061.H338 1988

Developments and Research on Aging: An International Handbook 1993
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1061.D48 1993

Handbooks

Handbook of the Psychology of Aging 2006                                                                                                     MILLS Bookstacks  BF 724.55 .A35 H36 2006   

Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences 2006                                                                                             MILLS Bookstacks  HQ 1061 .H336 2006   

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic Subject headings for Gerontology include:

 

 

 

Data and Statistics

 

 

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

AgeSource / AgeStats Worldwide                                                                                                               http://www.aarpinternational.org/database/

AARP International: Aging Everywhere (AARP)                                                                                             www.aarpinternational.org/map/                                                                                                                    Information and statistics on aging around the world

 

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

International Association of Gerontology
http://www.iagg.com.br

Canadian Association on Gerontology                                                                                                               http://www.cagacg.ca/whoweare/200_e.php

National Institute on Aging (U.S.)
http://www.nia.nih.gov

Wayne State University Institute of Gerontology
http://www.iog.wayne.edu/

World Health Organization: Aging and Life Course                                                                                             http://www.who.int/ageing/projects/en/

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

Aging and Seniors (Public Health Agency of Canada)
http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/seniors-aines/

Canadian Health Network-Seniors
http://www.canadian-health-network.ca/1seniors.html

Canadian Research Index, Microlog. V.10 (1988)-  (monthly)
Indexes significant Canadian government reports (federal, provincial, municipal) including research papers in physical, natural and social sciences. All reports are available in the Library on microfiche.
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA7 MC M31
Also available as an electronic index in Gov Pubs: Canadian Research Index. 1982-  (quarterly)

Health Care Costs for the Elderly in Ontario 1976-2026. / Ontario Economic Council.
MILLS Gov Pubs (2nd floor) CA2 ON EC 1 81P11

United States Administration on Aging                                                                                                                www.aoa.gov/