Geology
Geology is "The study of the planet Earth, the materials of which it is made, the processes that act on these materials, the products formed, and the history of the planet and its life forms since its origin." (American Geological Institute, Glossary of Geology)
- Reference
- Books
- Articles/Databases
- Geographic Info Systems
- Websites
- Associations & Organizations
- Government Sources
- Citation and Style Guides
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Books
Some basic subject headings for Geology include:
Search also for the names of specific resources or minerals followed by the word “Geology”, e.g. Petroleum Geology, Gold ores Geology, Coal Geology
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Some useful Article Databases and Indexes:
Geographic Info Systems
Geographic Information Systems (GIS) are computer systems of software and hardware that allow the storage, manipulation, analysis and display of geographic information.
GIS data and services are provided by the GIS Librarian (Mills Library Room 108). To make an appointment, please call (905) 525-9140 ext. 21392 or email libgis @ mcmaster.ca
Available GIS data files are described at http://library.mcmaster.ca/maps/geospatial. Many other datasets are available. Contact the GIS Librarian for more information.
GIS software is available on computers in the Gateway Data/GIS Lab (Mills Library Room 111) and in the Map Collection (Mills Library Room 110). Researchers using numeric data or GIS software have priority for use of computers in these locations. Click here for a list of available software.
Websites
Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) - part of Earth Sciences Sector, Natural Resources Canada. Responsible for performing geologic surveys of the country, GSC was founded in 1842 and is Canada's oldest scienfitic agency.
- Geoscience Data Repository
- MIRAGE (GSC map images)
- GEOSCAN (GSC publications database)
U.S. Geologic Survey (USGS) - Federal agency responsible for research in geologic processes and understanding their interaction with humans and environment.
- Geology Research and Information - United States and World
- National Geologic Map Database
Geologic Guidebooks of North America database - American Geological Institute. Guides to geologic field trips 1940 to date.
Volcanoes of the World - Global Volcanism Program, Smithsonian Institution
QUAKELINE Database - MCEER (Multidisciplinary for Earthquake Engineering Research). Bibliographic database about earthquakes and natural hazards.
Tour of Geologic Time - Univesity of California Museum of Paleontology. Interactive time scale.
Physical Geology Animations - Houghton Mifflin Co. Animations for rock cycle, minerals, igneous, sedimentary and metamorphic rocks, faults and folds, earth structure, plate tectonics, groundwater, river floods, mass movement, glaciers, shores.
Associations & Organizations
Government Sources
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.
Geological Survey of Canada (GSC) - part of Earth Sciences Sector, Natural Resources Canada. Responsible for performing geologic surveys of the country, GSC was founded in 1842 and is Canada's oldest scienfitic agency.
- Geoscience Data Repository
- MIRAGE (GSC map images)
- GEOSCAN (GSC publications database)
U.S. Geologic Survey (USGS) - Federal agency responsible for research in geologic processes and understanding their interaction with humans and environment.
- Geology Research and Information - United States and World
- National Geologic Map Database
Citation and Style Guides
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a

