Engineering - Electrical & Computer

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

HANDBOOKS

Access Engineering

The Circuits and Filters Handbook 2nd ed.
Thode Ref. TK 7867 .C4977 2003

 The Electrical Engineering Handbook (6 vols.):

  • Broadcasting and Optical Communication Technology
    Thode Ref. TK 5103.59 .E44 2006

  • Circuits, Signals, and Speech and Image Processing
    Thode Ref. TK 5102.9 .E44 2006

  • Computers, Software Engineering, and Digital Devices
    Thode Ref. TK 7885 .E44 2006

  • Electronics, Power Electronics, Optoelectronics, Microwaves, Electromagnetics, and Radar
    Thode Ref. TK 145 .E435 2006

  • Sensors, Nanoscience, Biomedical Engineering, and Instruments
    Thode Ref. R 857 .B54E44 2006

  • Systems, Controls, Embedded Systems

Electrical Engineering Handbook

Electrical Engineer's Reference Book
Thode Ref. TK 145 .E36 2003

Electronics Handbook 2nd ed. 

Handbook of Electric Power Calculations

Handbook of Electrical Design Details 

Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook

Sensor Technology Handbook

Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers

Standard Handbook of Electronic Engineering
Also available in print: 
Thode Ref. TK 7825 .E34 2005

_____________________________________________________________________________

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Comprehensive Dictionary of Electrical Engineering
Also available in print: 
Thode Ref. TK 9 .C575 2005

Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
Thode Ref. QC 176.8 .N35D43 2004

Dictionary of Computing

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Thode Ref. TK 7885 .A2M37 2004

Wiley Electrical and Electronics Engineering
Thode Ref. TK 9 .K39 2004

_______________________________________________________________________________

STANDARDS

CSA Standards

 

 

 

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

INSPEC
Primarily a physics/astronomy, electrical engineering database; good coverage of inorganic chemistry and materials science.

IEEE Xplore
Access to abstracts and full text of IEE and IEEE publications, including journals, transactions, conference proceedings and standards

ACM Digital Library
Provides access to indexing, abstracts and full-text articles for many publications from the Association for Computing Machinery

Compendex (Engineering Village 2)
(1969 to present) Compendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines.

Applied Science and Technology Abstracts
(1983 to present indexing and 1993 to present with abstracts) Abstracts of journal articles, trade publications, buyers’ guides, conference proceedings, etc. in the area of applied science and technology.

The world's most comprehensive source of life sciences and biomedical bibliographic information, with nearly eleven million records.

 

Associations & Organizations

Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.

Association for Computing Machinery
http://www.acm.org/
ACM delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
http://www.ieee.org/portal/site
The world’s leading professional association for the advancement of technology

Institution of Engineering and Technology
http://www.theiet.org/
Delivering industry information to benefit engineering and technical professionals the world over.

Government Sources

Governments (national, provincial, local and regional) and inter-governmental organizations (like the United Nations) publish documents, reports, articles and books relevant to many fields of study.
Use McMaster's library catalogue and/or consult our guides to government publications to find government sources.

National Technical Information Service
http://www.ntis.gov/
The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for US government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.