Country Specific Statistics
Economic Statistics
EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
- country, industry, and management intelligence and analysis concerning worldwide market
- trends and business strategies for countries and regions around the world
- country analysis of over 200 markets, and industry trends in nine key sectors
- McMaster has access to:
- Viewswire (business decision support and daily market analysis)
- Business Briefings (frequently updated business conditions around the world)
- Country Commerce (reference guide to operating conditions, laws and regulations in 55 countries)
- Country Finance (guide to changes in financial services, tax laws, investments, etc in the world’s 45 principal financial markets)
- Country Report - politics, economic policy, domestic economy, sectoral trends, and foreign trade plus detailed two-year forecasts for 200 countries
- Country Profile - annual perspective of long-term political and social issues affecting each country
- Euro-Indicators for short term economic analysis
- covers areas of major concern in relation to the development of the European Union
- statistics and datasets available
International Financial Statistics / International Monetary Fund, 1948-present
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MF-I52
- global statistics; data supplied by national central banks
- contains approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, including all series appearing on the IFS country pages
- exchange rate series for all Fund member countries
- includes World, Country and Commodity Prices Tables
- results given in either Comma Separated Value, Excel, HTML, or TAB Delimited Files
International Trade Statistics Yearbook / United Nations
Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 S30-Y31
- to access country information, click on Country Profiles on the Basic search screen
- topics include history, geography, people, government, economy, communications
- replaced FISonline
- access to corporate information and reports from over 10,000 US companies and
- 15,000 international companies (including 2000 Canadian)
OECD Economic Surveys
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor)
Online access: Search the Library Catalogue by in Title = oecd economic surveys followed by the name of the country you’re interested in, e.g. in Title =oecd economic surveys romania
- online access to OECD Economic Surveys of 39 countries
- full text available in .pdf format
- dates available vary between countries (generally between 1998 to present)
Trade Policy Review
Location of print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 WTO13 (varies by country)
- produced by the World Trade Organization (WTO)
- includes an analysis of each member country's role in world trade, its economic environment and trade policies
World Bank Annual Report, 1946 to the present
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-A56
- online access to over 15,000 free downloadable documents and reports
- access to extensive datasets and tabular statistics, including Outcome Indicators from the Millenium Development Goals, World Development Indicators, and the International Comparison Program
World Bank Economic Review, 1987 to the present
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-W60
- scholarly economic journal that specializes in quantitative development policy analysis
- emphasizes policy relevance rather than theory or methodology
- access to searchable WTO library, annual publications, research reports, economic research and analysis, statistics database, international trade statistics (1998 to present), legal texts of WTO agreements, and searchable online documents
Demographic Statistics
Background Notes / U.S. State Department
- frequently updated by the U.S. State Department
- includes information concerning economic and political systems, populations, history, travel advisories, etc. for countries across the globe
- searchable database
- description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of 101 lesser-known countries throughout the world
- Country Studies are no longer updated (as of 1998), but site does include updated Country Profiles
Demographic Yearbook / United Nations, 1948 to the present
Location of Print Version: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) Quick Reference Shelf UN2 S30-D29 (previous editions in MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor)
Also available on CD-ROM 1948 to 1997, MILLS Data/Text (2nd floor)
- demographic data (population by age, by sex, etc.) for more than 160 countries for compiled historical data (1948-1997 or later) see the Demographic Yearbook Historical Supplement: http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/dyb/dybhist.htm
Europa World Year Book, 2 vols., 1959 to the present
Location: MILLS Reference (2nd floor) Quick Reference Shelf JA 51. E89 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks or Storage - check our Library Catalogue for specific volume locations)
- good source of current facts and figures on all countries in the world
- information on government systems & officials, political parties, economic and demographic statistics
Historical Statistics of Canada, 2nd ed
Location of Print : MILLS Reference (2nd floor) Quick Reference Shelf CA1 BS11-C516 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks HA 746 .U7)
- 1,088 statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s
Human Development Report (annual) 1990 to the present
Location of Print Version: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 DE-H72
- analyzes the development of civil, political, economic, and social rights worldwide
- searchable website
- reports are divided into three major categories: global, regional and national
- includes HDR Statistics section that offers statistics and data in either html, .pdf or Excel format
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch World Reports (2002-present)
- listing of reports by country
- extensive coverage of global issues (international justice, children’s rights, women’s rights, etc.)
- includes videos, photo essays and audio
International Database (US Census)
- computerized data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world
- created in the Census Bureau's International Programs Cente
- provide information dating back as far as 1950 and as far ahead as 2050
- statistical data and analysis of international and U.S. population trends and their implications
- data and reports on issues such as demographics, immigration, poverty, etc.
- PRB is a non-profit, non-advocacy, educational organization founded in 1929
- search 95 demographic data variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions, the world as a whole, the United States as a whole, and the U.S. states
- online access to data sheets and publications through the PRB library
- compiled list of demographic statistical sources; categories include:
- Country Profiles
- Travel Advisories
- Health Reports
- War and Justice
- Economic Indicators
Statistical Yearbook / United Nations, 1948 to present
Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 S30-S81
- comprehensive compilation of current statistics for all countries and areas around the world
- includes 75 tables (generally between 1993 and 2004) on topics such as population, education, nutrition, culture, economics, industry, environment, culture, and foreign relations
- compare up to six countries from 57 different country groupings arranged by:
- geographic region
- membership in intergovernmental organizations
- socio-economic status
- displays data in printable bar graph form
United Nations Statistics Division
- global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment, transport, demographic and social statistics
- gathered from many national and international sources
United Nations Statistics Division: Demographic and Social Statistics
- access to the following products and databases:
- Demographic Yearbook
- Population and Vital Statistics Report
- Population of Capital Cities or Cities of 100,000+ Inhabitants
- Social Indicators
- Social Indicators on Men and Women
- United Nations Disability Statistics Database (DISTAT)
World Development Indicators / World Bank,1998 to the present (2005)
Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-W53
Also available on CD-ROM 1960 to 2004
- economic and social indicators for 210 countries plus regional and income groups
- interactive database includes 550 data series for over 200 countries
World Development Report, 1978 to present
Location: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN9 MG-W52
Also available online through the Documents & Reports section of http://www.worldbank.org
World Factbook / CIA, 2000 to present
- facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities covers geography, people, government, economy, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues
- very clear and detailed maps
- stored as a .zip file that must be downloaded and opened locally
- maintained by the United Nations Population Division
- world population estimates and projections for regions and countries around the world; covers 1950 to 2050 in 5 year intervals
- projections include basic demographic data covering 1950 to 2050 including birth rate, death rate, life expectancy, fertility, mortality

