Canadian Company and Industry Sources
Course code: Commerce 1B03 and Commerce 1E03
Course name: Business Environment and Organization
Course date: Winter 2012
| Company Description & Analysis | Canadian Industry Description & Analysis | Company Functional Area Focus |
NOTE: Key titles are marked with a Best Bet icon ![]()
Other Useful Links: Citation Guide for Business (December 2011) | Commerce 1B03 Course Outline (Winter 2012 - coming soon) | Commerce 1E03 Course Outline (Winter 2012 - coming soon)
Company Description and Analysis
Business Source Complete
On the ADVANCED SEARCH screen, click on the COMPANY PROFILES link on the right and search by company name. Reports can include a company overview, top competitors and a SWOT analysis.
Canadian Company Capabilities
Identifies the exporting markets of some Canadian companies. Type in your company name and click on the Search button. If your company is listed, click on the Complete Profile. It may contain a section on Geographic Markets.
DBRS.com
Includes rating reports for selected Canadian companies. Strengths and challenges are often included. Search by company name.
Factiva
Contains reports on companies around the world. Click on the Companies / Markets tab and then click on the Company link. Search by company name or ticker symbol. Ownership type (i.e., public or private) is noted. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later.
FP500: Canada's Largest Corporations
Ranks the top private & public companies in Canada based on revenue/assets. Also identifies leading companies in several industries including finance, insurance, multimedia, telecommunications and more.
Infomart
Contains corporate and financial data for Canadian companies. Try searching for a company name in the Corporate Surveys module.
Mergent Online
Online access to annual reports and financials for U.S. and Canadian companies.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
Includes profiles for some Canadian companies along with financial, market share and brand information.
SEDAR
Official filings for publicly traded Canadian companies. Contains company annual reports dating back to 1997. Search by company name or industry group.
Top 1000 Biggest Canadian Companies (Report on Business, July / August 2011)
Rankings of Canada's biggest corporations based on revenue/profits/assets. Rankings by industry are also provided. Lists include public and/or private companies.
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 105
Canadian Industry Description & Analysis
Associations Canada via Canada's Information Resource Centre
Identify relevant trade association sources and web sites for your industry. Visit the association(s) and search for statistics, trends, legal and regulatory info on your industry.
Location of Print: INNIS Reference HS 17 .A88 2011
Business Monitor International
Select CANADA from the drop-down NORTH AMERICA menu. View Industry Surveys (e.g., Autos, Commercial Banking, Defence & Security, Food & Drink, Oil & Gas, Petrochemicals, Pharmaceuticals, Telecommunications, etc.), forecasts and risk ratings for Canada.
Business Source Complete
Find Canadian industry reports by clicking on INDUSTRY PROFILES on the ADVANCED SEARCH screen. Click on the COUNTRY tab and select CANADA to view the reports relevant to Canada.
CANSIM (updated daily) | E-STAT (updated annually) - (Statistics Canada)
Contains industry related statistics which may help with industry size/sales over time.
To browse for statistics/tables:
- In CANSIM browse by subject or survey on the introductory search screen; In E-STAT, select the Table of contents link in the left navigation menu to browse subjects.
- Select your industry type (e.g., Manufacturing)
- Click on an industry from the CANSIM listing displayed (e.g., Manufacturing industries)
- Review the tables listed and select the ones that fits your industry
- Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed
To search for statistics/tables:
- Search for word(s) that best describe your industry or type in a CANSIM table number like the ones noted below.
- Review the tables retrieved and select the ones that fit your industry
- Create customized tables/graphs by selecting variables from the menus displayed
Some popular tables:
- 301-0006 Principal statistics for manufacturing industries, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars), 2004 to current
- 080-0014 Retail trade, sales by trade group based on the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), monthly, 1991 to current
- 080-0009 Survey of large retailers, monthly (dollars), 1997 to current
- 355-0006 Monthly survey of food services and drinking places, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), 1998 to current
- 355-0005 Summary statistics for food services and drinking places (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 2001 to current
- 351-0002 Summary statistics for traveller accommodation (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual, 1998 to current
- 353-0003 Operating and financial summary of the cable and other program distribution industry, by North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 1998 to current
- 359-0001 Summary statistics for personal services (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual, 1997 to current
- 361-0002 Summary statistics for arts, entertainment and recreation (all establishments), by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual *Terminated*, 1997 to 2005.
- 361-0015 Amusement and recreation, summary statistics, by North American Industry Classification System (NAICS), annual (dollars unless otherwise noted), 2006 to current
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains several current Canadian industry reports. Industries covered include: accommodation, air transportation, construction (residential & non-residential), food & beverage, food services, motor vehicles and parts, paper products, retail trade, telecommunications, textiles & apparel, tourism and wood products Search by keywords or Browse by Topic - Industry Sector Economics. Also contains Canadian, provincial and metropolitan data and analysis. Reports include economic indicators such as employment, income, industry outlook, housing starts, migration and more.The Daily (Statistics Canada)
Search the archive to locate Statistics Canada publications and data on your industry. Take note of relevant CANSIM table numbers and publication catalogue numbers. Go to E-STAT or CANSIM to create customized data tables and charts for FREE. Publications noted in the Daily may also be available for FREE via Statistics CanadaDBRS.com
Detailed information on selected Canadian industries. Review the reports in the INDUSTRY STUDIES section.EIU (Economist Intelligence Unit)
Provides access to current economic data and commentary on countries around the world. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH to find content on Canada or use the drop-down country menu and select Canada.EIU ViewsWire
Select Canada from the drop-down menu. Click on Business, Economy and/or Finance to see a breakdown of related topics.FP Markets - Canadian Demographics
Provides basic statistics on Canadian population, households, incomes and retail sales projections at the federal, provincial and city level.
Location: INNIS Reference HC 111.S96 2012 (previous editions in MILLS Bookstacks)
Infomart
Contains corporate and financial data for Canadian companies. Try searching the following modules: Company Snapshots, Companies by Industry, Corporate Surveys and Industry Reports.
Information by Industrial Sector (Industry Canada)
Mergent Industry Reports via Factiva
Worldwide industry reports that typically include sector overviews, sector performance, industry size & value, policy & regulatory environment, market trends & outlook, and key references. To find Canadian reports, search and select Mergent Industry Reports from the Source menu. In the search box, type in the keyword(s) of your industry and/or "north america" and click Search. Click here for a sample search. Browse the results for reports with North America in the title. Canadian content should be included in the body of the report.
Passport GMID (Global Market Information Database)
Includes thousands of market research reports on international consumer, industrial and service markets. Search for the keyword Canada to retrieve a list of market reports and a consumer lifestyle report for Canada
Report on Business: The Top 1000 Publicly Traded Companies in Canada (July/August 2011)
Create company lists by industry using the options in the Sort the Top 1000 section.
Location of Print: INNIS Reserve IPC 105
Statistics Canada Free Internet Publications
Full text access to a huge selection of Statistics Canada publications. Includes several industry specific publications (e.g., Dairy Review, Retail Trade, etc.)
Winspear Canadian Industry Database (University of Alberta Libraries)
Company Funcational Area Focus
Business Source Complete
Full text for more than 1,200 scholarly business journals, magazines and other sources.
Canada's Top 100 Employers (current year online)
A guide to Canada's best places to work. Briefly covers issues such as work atmosphere & communications, financial benefits & compensation, health & family friendly benefits, training & skills development, community involvement, and more.
Location of Print: INNIS Bookstacks HD 2809 .C35 (2001 to 2006)
CBCA Reference & Current Events, 1982 to the present
Key articles from 500 Canadian business periodicals, magazines and newspapers
Conference Board of Canada e-Library
Contains reports covering subject areas such as corporate finance, human resources management, corporate social responsibility, marketing, health & wellness and training & development. Primarily Canadain content.
CPI.Q, 1988 to the present
Provides articles from 400 periodicals with significant Canadian content. Full text of 150 titles, including the ROB section of the Globe & Mail.
Factiva, dates vary by publication
Contains approx. 1,000 full-text newspapers from 87 countries in 22 languages. Use the Sources section to limit your search to Canadian publications. NOTE: Access is limited. Only 6 people at one time can use this database. If you receive an error message, please try again later or try LexisNexis and CBCA.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly content on the Web.
Human Resources Management in Canada
Covers current management issues and identifies specific information on the latest governmental, legal, labour, business and HR developments in Canada
Location: INNIS Reference HF 5549.2 .C3H85 (current) vols.1-3
LexisNexis Academic , dates vary by publication
Includes 350 full-text newspapers from around the world. [At the initial search screen,click on the NEWS option].
ProQuest Databases, dates vary by publication
Search over 30 article databases simultaneously, each covering a different discipline (e.g., psychology, sociology, economics, etc.).
Last Reviewed: March 19, 2012

