Classics

Reference

Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

General

Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World
A comprehensive atlas of the ancient world.

Brill’s New Pauly
An English translation of Der Neue Pauly. Enzyklopädie der Antike. The series is divided into Antiquity, which covers over 2000 years of ancient history, and Classical Tradition, which looks at the influence of antiquity and the history of classical scholarship. This reference source is also available online here.

Dictionary of Greek and Roman Biography and Mythology
This 3 volume set covers all of the significant individuals of the ancient world, both real and mythical. Also available online here.

Oxford Classical Dictionary
The definitive one volume dictionary of the classical world, it includes entries on all aspects of Greek and Roman society, including individuals, places, events and social and religious customs. Essays also provide bibliographies.

Paulys Real-Encyclopadie der Classischen Alterumswissenschaft
This German encyclopedia is considered an authoritative reference work for classics and covers over 2000 years of ancient history.

 

History and Archaeology

Cambridge Ancient History
This multi-volume set is a standard reference work that provides essays on all aspects of ancient history.

Chronology of the Ancient World
This reference work provides short entries for major events in ancient history, as well as number of lists such as emperors and their reigns.

Great Events from History: Ancient and Medieval Series
This work provides summaries of major events from ancient history.

Lexicon Icongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae (LIMC)
A multivolume work that centres on the iconography of the ancient world.

 

Literature and Language

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
This multivolume set offers excerpts of criticism for classical and medieval literature. The series also contains biographies, textual histories, bibliographies and suggestions for further readings.

Greek-English Lexicon
The standard for ancient Greek dictionaries, providing ancient Greek terms and their English translation. This authoritative work offers over 20 000 words.

Oxford Companion to Classical Literature
This authoritative reference work examines classical literature, including historical and mythical individuals, authors and genres.

Oxford Latin Dictionary
This definitive Latin dictionary is composed from original sources and offers over 40 000 Latin words and their English translations.
 

Online Reference Works
Dictionary of Greek and Roman Antiquities
Dictionary of Classical Antiquities
Classical Gazetteer

Primary Texts

Primary texts may be the literary works themselves (manuscripts, novels, poems, short stories, diaries, etc.) or first-hand accounts of an event or a person's life or work. These include letters, autobiographies, posters, diaries, archival materials, and photographs. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Primary Texts

Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana
These texts are critical editions of ancient works in their original language.
 

Loeb Classical Library
Provides original ancient text on the left page and the English translation on the
right page. Located on the 4th floor (PA) and shelved by language (Greek or Latin) and alphabetically by author.

 

Inscriptions

Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL)
A comprehensive collection of Latin inscriptions from across the Roman Empire.

 

Online Ancient Texts
As with all online information, the following texts should be used with careful evaluation.

Library of Ancient Texts (LATO)
Perseus Digital Library
Project Gutenberg 
Corpus Scriptorum Latinorum

for more sites that offer ancient texts please see the websites section
 

Books

Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.

Some basic subject headings for Classics include:

New Titles

Click Here
to View Recently Received Titles Related to Classics

 

Articles/Databases

Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Article Databases / Indexes

JSTOR
Covers over 3 million articles from 620 journals. Coverage varies - specializes in older material , but includes some newer material. Allows limits by discipline (including Classics).

Project Muse
A multidisciplinary database that provides full text for over 380 journals.  Allows limits by discipline (including Classics).

L'Année Philologique, 1959 to present
1.500 periodicals are indexed with brief abstract. Covers Greco-Roman antiquity (second millenium B.C. to 800 A.D.) Subjects covered - language and literature, history, archaeology, philosophy, law, science and technology. Indexes books, articles in journals, conference papers and dissertations in English, French, Spanish and German languages.
Print version: L'Annee Philologique, 1924 to 1961, 1963 to 2004

Humanities Abstracts,1984 to present
Indexes over 573,000 articles and book reviews from more than 529 English-language periodicals

Table of Contents for Journals of Interest to Classicists (TOCS-IN),1992 to present
Indexes over 45,000 articles in 185 journals.

Websites

The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.

Forum Romanum
A site that brings together information on classical literature and history and includes latin texts.

Trajan’s Column
This McMaster project provides over 500 detailed pictures of Trajan’s column as well as introductory essays on the column and Roman history.

Bruce Brace Coin Collection (McMaster University)
This McMaster project provides detailed views of nearly 300 coins and contextual background information.

VRoma
This site brings together information on teaching Latin and Roman culture, for both students and teachers.

Diotima
This site is devoted to the study of women and gender in the ancient world.

Wiki Classical Dictionary
This wiki provides information on all aspects of the ancient world.

The Ancient Library
This sites provides access to a number of scanned classical reference works and publications.

Annotated List of Reference Websites: Classical and Medieval History (Library of Congress)
Many useful links for classical studies.

Internet Classics Archive: 441 searchable works of classical literature (MIT)
Collection of Greek and Roman texts.
 

The following is a continually updated feed of interesting & new resources on the web that might be of interest to Classicists. If you use an RSS aggregator, you can grab the RSS feed for this list right here. [ more info on RSS ]

Citation and Style Guides

These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly. Best Bets! are marked with aBest Bet!.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
McMaster Use Only.

Turabian (Chicago) style guide
A brief guide based on the 7th edition of Turabian's A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses and Dissertations (2007). If the type of entry you want to cite is not included, please consult the manual (at Mills).