Art & Art History
Reference
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
- 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts from prehistory to the present day
- painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography
- contents:
- Grove Art Online includes the full text of The Dictionary of Art, Jane Turner, ed.: more than 45,000 articles (more than 21,000 biographies and 500,000 bibliographical citations) contributed by 6,700 scholars from 120 countries
- The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Hugh Brigstocke, ed.: provides discriminating and reliable coverage of over 1,700 artists and their work
- The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, Michael Kelly, ed.: more than 600 articles by more than 500 globally recognized art historians, philosophers, and theorists on art, culture, and society
- The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Michael Clarke & Deborah Clarke, eds.: 1,800 entries on art terms, critical periods, and styles in the visual arts
Art Information: Research Methods and Resources / Lois Swan Jones
- MILLS Reference (2nd floor) N 85 .J64 1990
Art Terms and Techniques / Ralph Mayer; Steven Sheehan, ed.
- MILLS Reference (2nd floor) N 33 .M37 1991
- an online directory to information about artists
Biographical Encyclopedia of Artists / Sir Lawrence Gowing, gen. ed.
- MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) N40 .B535 2005
Biographical Index of Artists in Canada / Evelyn de R. McMann
- a guide to the biographies of nearly 8,800 artists in Canada from the seventeenth century to the present
Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art / Ian Chilvers, John Glaves-Smith
- approximately 2000 entries about all aspects of modern and contemporary art including movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries
Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture / James Stevens Curl
- includes entries on architects, terms, periods, and styles, from all periods of Western architectural history
Dictionary of Subject and Symbols in Art / James Hall
- MILLS Reference N 7560 .H34 1979b
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art / Gerard C. Wertkin, ed.; Lee Kogan, assoc. ed.
- entries contain basic information about the range of American visual art forms known as or associated with folk art
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering and Construction / Joseph A. Wilkes, ed., Robert T. Packard, assoc. ed.
- MILLS Reference (2nd floor) NA 31 .E59 1988
The Encyclopedia of Sculpture / Antonia Boström, ed.
- MILLS Reference (2nd floor) NB 198 .E53 2004
International Dictionary of Art and Artists / James Vinson, ed.
- MILLS Reference (2nd floor) N 40 .I55 1990
North American Women Artists of the Twentieth Century: A Biographical Dictionary / Jules Heller, Nancy G. Heller, eds.
- contains entries about female artists from Canada, Mexico, and the United States
Oxford Companion to the Photograph / Robin Lenman
- over 800 entries on photographers and other contributors to photography from the nineteenth century to the present
Oxford Dictionary of Art / Ian Chilvers
- searchable database of art-related information, focusing on information about artists, schools, periods, techniques, critical terms, major museums, art historians, and philosophers.
Books
|
Some basic subject headings for Art and Art History include: |
|
Image Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Image Databases
- ARTstor

Searchable database of more than 400,000 images applicable different times, cultures, and disciplines. - ArtPromote: Art and Culture Online
Online exhibitions, image collections, museums, and related resources arranged by theme, medium, movement and region. - CAMIO: OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
- McGill Digital Collections Program
McGill University's unique rare and special collections of rare books, maps, manuscripts, prints, photographs, sound recordings, and more. - Smithsonian Photography Initiative
Articles/Databases
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Article Databases / Indexes
- Art Abstracts 1984 to present
Broad coverage of the visual arts including new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism
-
JSTOR (coverage varies by title)
Full text of selected art journals; does not include the most recent 3-5 years
-
BHI: British Humanities Index 1962 to present
Architecture, art, painting
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1976 to present
A multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities
-
ARTbibliographies Modern late 1960's to present
Modern and contemporary art, photography and design
Websites
- Art History Resources on the Web
Vast collection of Internet links to art history resources from around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary. - Art Cyclopedia
Directory of art resources on the Internet searchable by movement, medium, subject, or artist name. Links to art museums and lists the top 30 sites for the month. Features a different print and book every month.
Citation and Style Guides
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
- How to cite an image, photograph or work of art in MLA 7th ed. -- NoodleTools Support Centre
- Citing Images -- U. Cincinnati

