Anthropology
Reference
Dictionaries, Directories, Handbooks, Encyclopedias, etc. - Reference works are useful when you need to obtain quick facts, define the terms and scope of your search, or get a broad overview of a topic.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Table of Contents
General Anthropology
Encyclopedia of Anthropology
H. James Birx, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 11 .E53 2006
H. James Birx, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 11 .E53 2006
International Dictionary of Anthropologists
Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp.; Christopher Winters, general ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 20 .I5z 1991
Library-Anthropology Resource Group, comp.; Christopher Winters, general ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 20 .I5z 1991
The Dictionary of Anthropology
Thomas Barfield, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .D485 1997 or Online
Thomas Barfield, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .D485 1997 or Online
Gérald Gaillard
Online
Archaeology
Archaeological Method and Theory: an Encyclopedia
Linda Ellis, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 75 .A653 2000
Linda Ellis, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 75 .A653 2000
Encyclopedia of Archaeology: History and Discoveries
Tim Murray, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 100 .E54 2001
Tim Murray, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 100 .E54 2001
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Archaeology
Timothy Darvill
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 70 .D37 2002 or Online
Timothy Darvill
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) CC 70 .D37 2002 or Online
Linguistics
A Glossary of Sociolinguistics
Peter Trudgill
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) P 40 .T747 2003
Peter Trudgill
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) P 40 .T747 2003
E.K. Brown
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) P 29 .E48 2006
Philipp Strazny
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) P 29 .E483 2005 (v.1-2) or Online
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics
William J. Frawley, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) P 29 .I58 2003
William J. Frawley, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) P 29 .I58 2003
P. H. (Peter Hugoe) Matthews
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) P 29 .M34 1997 or Online
Physical Anthropology
Dictionary of Concepts in Physical Anthropology
Joan C. Stevenson
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 50.3 .S74 1991
Joan C. Stevenson
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 50.3 .S74 1991
Mark D. Pagel
Online
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory
Eric Delson, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 281 .E53 2000
Eric Delson, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 281 .E53 2000
Larry L. Mai
THODE Reference (lower level) QP 34.5 .M24 2005 or Online
Socio-Cultural Anthropology [Ethnology]
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Vered Amit, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 20 .B55 2004
Vered Amit, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 20 .B55 2004
Countries and their Cultures
Melvin Ember and Carol R Ember, eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .C68 2001
Melvin Ember and Carol R Ember, eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .C68 2001
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
David Levinson and Melvin Ember, eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .E52 1996
David Levinson and Melvin Ember, eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 307 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Solomon H. Katz, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GT 2850 .E53 2003
Solomon H. Katz, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GT 2850 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Human Ecology
Julia R. Miller et al., eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GF 4 .E53 2003
Julia R. Miller et al., eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GF 4 .E53 2003
Encyclopedia of Prehistory
Peter N. Peregrine and Melvin Ember., eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 710 .E53 2001
Peter N. Peregrine and Melvin Ember., eds.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 710 .E53 2001
Encyclopedia of the World’s Minorities
Carl Skutsch, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 495 .4.E63 2005
Carl Skutsch, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 495 .4.E63 2005
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Difference and the Impact of Society on Gender
Judith Worell, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .E43 2001
Judith Worell, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) HQ 1115 .E43 2001
Peoples, Nations, and Cultures: an A-Z of the Peoples of the World, Past and Present
John M. MacKenzie, general ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 316 .P385 2005
John M. MacKenzie, general ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 316 .P385 2005
Nigel Rapport
MILLS Reference (2nd Floor) GN 316 .R37 2000
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Timothy L. Gall, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 333 .W67 1998
Timothy L. Gall, ed.
MILLS Reference (2nd floor) GN 333 .W67 1998
Books
Use McMaster's Library Catalogue to find books on your topic. Click the Help link for searching tips & strategies.
Some basic subject headings for Anthropology include:
Ethnology [Social-Cultural Anthropology]
Click Here
To View Recently Received Titles Related to Anthropology & Archaeology
Articles/Databases
Use article databases to find out which journals, magazines, and newspapers have published articles on your topic. Most useful when recent information is required, or when the topic is too specific to be covered in a book.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
Article Databases / IndexesCovers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a number of periodicals. Several thousand abstracts, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject.
Describes over 500,000 articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, linguistics, psychology and religious studies.
A complete electronic archive of the American Anthropological Association most critical peer-reviewed publications.
JSTOR provides access to a digital archive of journals in the areas of Arts, Business, Economics, and Sciences. JSTOR includes the entire runs of these journals, from the very first issue to the volumes published a few years ago.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences; provides over 361,000 abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s.
Searchable abstracts of 750,000+ articles from more than 518 English-language periodicals in both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, with 47,000+ new records added annually. Subjects include anthropology, criminology, economics, law, geography, policy studies, psychology, sociology, social work, and urban studies.
|
Websites
The Internet is home to useful web sites on many subjects. Unlike the resources on other tabs, the following resources are selected from the free web. Remember to critically evaluate web resources, since web site content is usually unmonitored and unregulated.
The Anthro.Net database contains thousands of reviewed websites and bibliographic references. A search engine allows users to locate information relevant to anthropology, archeaology and linguisitcs and the table of contents includes a detailed list of subject categories contained within Anthro.Net.
This site offers news stories of interest to anthropologists and archaeologists from various sources, such as the New York Times and National Geographic.
A comprehensive list of internet resources compiled by the Department of Anthropology at McMaster University.
A comprehensive web portal that includes information, such as academic departments, research and data, news and news groups and a wide range of topical links.
Intute: Anthropology provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet. Each resource has been evaluated and categorised by subject specialists based at UK universities. Users can browse by keyword searching, subject heading, or a specific resource type.
A collection of Internet resources related to anthropology produced by the Internet Public Library.
Lists of web resources compiled by the Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology on a variety of topics, such as evolutionary biology, human and molecular genetics, and paleoanthropology.
Associations & Organizations
Professional, academic, advocacy and other types of associations and organizations involved in your subject area.
- American Anthropological Association (AAA)
- The Canadian Anthropology Society (CASCA)
- The Canadian Archaeological Association (CAA)
- Canadian Association for Physical Anthropology (CAPA)
- The Society for American Archaeology (SAA)
- The Society for Archaeological Sciences (SAS)
- World Council of Anthropological Associations (WCAA)
Citation and Style Guides
These guides give information on the elements required when citing works and on presenting information clearly and succinctly.
Best Bets! are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
.
Products available to registered McMaster Students/Staff/Faculty Only are marked with a
A brief guide outlining the style rules basic to the AAA style.
Includes citation guidelines for articles submitted to the American Journal of Physical Anthropology for publication.
Completely searchable, the Chicago Manual of Style Online, provides quick answers to your style, writing, and editing questions.
Cite right: a quick guide to citation styles--MLA, APA, Chicago, the sciences, professions, and more
Charles Lipson
INNIS Bookstacks PN 171 .F56 L55 2006
A comprehensive style guide specific to the field of archaeology.

